Fall 2013 Pilot Review: The Blacklist

Airs: Mondays on NBC at 10:00 EST

Timeslot Competiton: Hostages (CBS), Castle (ABC)

Premise: Raymond “Red” Reddington (James Spader), one of the FBI’s most wanted fugitives, turns himself in and offers to help catch other fugitives, with the condition that he only work with one agent in particular – Elizabeth Keen (Megan Boone)

Pre-show Thoughts: I have been undecided about this show since seeing the (very long) trailer. It looked like it could have been an interesting movie, but I’m not sure it’s something I want to see week-to-week. It’s one of the rare shows that I don’t have an opinion about before seeing the pilot. 

Post-show Thoughts: For me, this pilot kind of dragged on with brief moments of excitement. Mostly, it just felt like the episode was one big build-up to the last 5 minutes. I wasn’t at all interested until Elizabeth found out that her husband wasn’t who he seemed to be.

James Spader is a very commanding actor and I enjoyed watching his scenes. I felt similarly about Megan Boone. I really liked her scenes with the general’s daughter. She’s made Elizabeth a very easy character to relate to and like, which I think is important.

Overall, I’m still very ambivalent about this show. There are definitely some interesting elements but as a whole, I’m not that interested in the show. I don’t think this one is for me.

Leave a Reply

