Fall 2012 Pilot Reviews: The New Normal

Premise: Bryan (Andrew Rannells) and David (Justin Bartha) decide that they want to have a baby. Goldie (Georgia King) decides to be their surrogate in order to begin a new life for her and her daughter, despite her grandmother’s objection.

Initial Thoughts: I was very hesitant about this show. I’ve been watching Glee since it premiered and I was a little skeptical of starting another Ryan Murphy show. Watching the previews for the show didn’t do much to persuade me that this show was going to be that different. The concept is great, but I was worried about the execution.

Series Premiere: 9/10/12 (sneak preview), 9/11/12 (timeslot premiere)

Timeslot Competition: Don’t Trust the B- In Apt 23 (ABC), NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS), The Mindy Project (FOX), Emily Owens, M.D. (CW)

Post-show Thoughts: Despite my reservations, I really enjoyed the pilot. I love the opening scene where Bryan is addressing his future child and I fell in love with Goldie and her daughter Shaina almost instantly. It wasn’t a perfect episode. The “choosing a surrogate” scene was a little more creepy than endearing for me. I’m not hugely excited about Georgia’s grandmother, who reminds me a lot of Sue from Glee. However, the combined family of Bryan, David, Georgia, Shaina, and a future baby is enough to make me keep watching for now. I wouldn’t mind if they continued to film messages for the baby as the season progresses either. It’s a little cheesy, but I love it.

Predictions: The pairing of this and Go On doesn’t initially strike me as the most natural match, but there really isn’t any other show on the network that seems like it would work better. Its timeslot isn’t quite as competitive as Go On‘s timeslot, although The Mindy Project will likely be a strong competitor. The premiere wasn’t super strong, considering the lead-in, but it has been available for online viewing for a while. The timeslot premiere tonight may provide a better indication of how this show will do.

I think it will probably complete its 13-episode run at the very least. Like Go On, they may decide to bring it back for a season 2 instead of extending the season to 22 episodes, but I’d say it’s likely to be one of NBC’s stronger performing new shows. The fact that NBC will need to rebuild it’s comedy base after the final seasons of 30 Rock and The Office will also work in its favor, so I think it may survive.

Leave a Reply

