Fall 2012 Pilot Reviews: The Mob Doctor

Premise: Grace Devlin is a surgical resisident who also happens to owe a debt to the mob. Whenever the mob needs her, she must be there to either patch someone up or kill them. If not, the consequences for herself or her family could be fatal.

Initial Thoughts: I have very little interest in the mob, so naturally, the premise doesn’t really appeal to me and trailers were unable to change my mind.

Series Premiere: 9/17/12

Timeslot Competition: Dancing with the Stars (ABC), 2 Broke Girls/Mike and Molly (CBS), The Voice (NBC), Gossip Girl (CW)

Post-show Thoughts: It’s not awful, but it wasn’t great either. I was bored while I was watching it. Grace is obviously very loyal and protective of her family and people she cares about, but I didn’t find her very interesting as a character. As I expected, I was completely uninterested in the mob aspect of the show. However, I did really like the plot line with her boyfriend and his patient. It was actually the most I liked Grace in the episode, since she obviously cared about the girl and wanted her to be able to keep her future plans. The fact that lying to the patient’s father wasn’t even an issue for her gave me a lot of insight into her sense of morality, which I enjoyed.

Predictions: It premiered to awful ratings with little competition, so it’s not going to improve any. The fact that it wasn’t a very engaging pilot won’t necessary intice viewers to come back next week against a mostly-full slate of competition. If it is relatively unexpensive to make and FOX doesn’t have anything else to fill it’s spot, it could stick around for it’s initial order, though it won’t be renewed. If it is expensive, I’m guessing they’ll just stop production and not finish filming the season. If it can be moved somewhere else to fill another spot, that could happen as well. Either way, its immediate fate will come down to economics, because it flopped in its scheduled timeslot.

Leave a Reply

