Fall 2012 Pilot Reviews: Animal Practice

Premise: Dr. George Coleman is a vet who loves animals but hates their owners. His ex returns to take over his animal hospital, causing tension between the two.

Initial Thoughts: I was not blown away by the concept. Dr. Coleman seemed to be the veterinarian version of Dr. House, though instead of loving the mystery, he does at least care about the patient he’s treating. The animals in the preview looked cute, at least, but I wasn’t intrigued by the human characters.

Series Premiere: 8/12/12 (sneak preview); 9/26/12 (timeslot premiere)

Timeslot Competition: The Middle (ABC), Survivor (CBS), The X-Factor (FOX), Arrow (CW)

Post-show Thoughts: It was better than I expected, I guess, but my expectations were really low. I watched the whole episode and didn’t really feel like I was forcing myself to leave it on. The animals were really cute and I kind of love Rizzo the monkey. Unfortunately, while I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it either. I am not particularly interested in the main storyline, either for the seemingly-inevitable romantic tension or the take-over of the hospital by an ex concept. I didn’t have a problem with the two main characters individually, and I thought Justin Kirk and Joanna Garcia worked well together, unfortunately, there was nothing in the pilot to really make me care about them. I found the co-workers quirky, but not in an interesting or endearing way. It may be that this is a show that will take a little bit to settle into its final concept (which wouldn’t be unheard of for a sitcom) but the pilot failed to make me want to tune in to episode 2.

Predictions: Oh wow. Ratings for the first episode in its timeslot were even worse than I thought they would be. This show won’t last – it was by far NBC’s weakest comedy premiere and obviously the people who tuned in after the Olympics were not interested in returning. It’s just a matter of time before the cancellation announcement is made.

Leave a Reply

