Fall 2012 Pilot Reviews: 666 Park Avenue

Premise: A couple takes a managerial position at a residential hotel. Unfortunately for them, the hotel is owned by people who are controlling and manipulating its tenants via supernatural means.

Initial Thoughts: I was really interested by the promos, although it’s definitely not my usual type of show. I figured it would probably be a decent show but I wasn’t sure if it was one for me.

Series Premiere: 9/30/12

Timeslot Competition: The Mentalist (CBS), Sunday Night Football (NBC)

Post-show Thoughts: It was actually a lot more psychological than I expected, which I love. It wasn’t the ghosts that were creepy, it was the fact that everyone was being manipulated based on their desires. I kind of figured that everything weird happening with the building would just be random and unrelated to any of the tenants, so I was happy to be wrong.

I was right, it isn’t entirely my kind of show. I enjoyed it and would probably like to marathon it once the season is over, but it’s not one that makes me want to watch it every week. I didn’t particularly connect to any of the characters in the first episode either, which tends to make me more ambivalent toward a show.

Predictions: Surprisingly, the ratings weren’t nearly as good as I expected them to be. ABC has an incredibly strong Sunday lineup, so I figured it would be a perfect place to launch a new show. Maybe switching the placement of this show and Revenge would have been a better fit?

Since the show had a weak start, I’m not figuring a season 2 is likely. They aren’t so bad that it’ll be immediately pulled off the air though, unless it drops substantially this week. Either way, this show won’t last.  

Leave a Reply

