Fall 2012 Pilot Reviews: Chicago Fire

Premise: After dealing with the loss of one of their own, the Chicago Fire Department must find a way to move on and forgive while still doing their jobs.

Initial Thoughts: I love Jesse Spencer and Monica Raymond, so I was going to watch this once the cast was announced. I was interested by the promos and I like that the plot seemed like it was mostly going to revolve around the characters rather than the fires themselves.

Series Premiere: 10/10/12

Timeslot Competition: Nashville (ABC), CSI (CBS)

Post-show Thoughts: I really liked this show. It’s extremely character-driven and so many of the characters already have such a great dynamic with each other. It’s not anything particularly ground-breaking or unique as far as shows go, but it features what is possibly my favorite tv trope: the concept of chosen families. I love tight-knit crews that fight and bicker but when it comes down to it, they’ll always have your back.

As a side note, I also liked that it showcased some of the other jobs firefighters and those who work closely with the fire department do. It opens up the range of jobs that we will get to see, which should help prevent them getting stale.

Predictions: This show actually premiered better than I expected it to. While the ratings aren’t fantastic, they were stable over the hour the show was airing, which could mean good things for next week. If the 18-49 demo ratings can stay within a few tenths of its premiere ratings, then it has a real shot of staying on the schedule. NBC has a ton of shows slated for midseason and with Revolution already renewed, it may get a season 2 renewal instead of a full-season order, but who knows. If both of their fall dramas are successful, maybe NBC will hold one of their midseason dramas instead. Of course, there is still the possibility that ratings will continuously fall throughout the season, which this show can’t afford. 

2 thoughts on “Fall 2012 Pilot Reviews: Chicago Fire

  1. Glad to hear you liked it! I was considering checking this out after seeing the previews on my tv and now I think I definitely will give it a try. I love the concept of chosen families as well so it sounds like my type of show! 🙂

Leave a Reply

