Fall 2012 Pilot Reviews: Nashville

Premise: Rayna James is a country music legend, but she can’t sell out tours like she used to. To help revive her career, her record label wants her to open for Juliette Barnes, the new star of country music.

Initial Thoughts: I was looking forward to this show. Connie Britton is fantastic in everything, so I knew the show would have a strong lead. I was a little apprehensive about the plot. I like country music and thought it would make an interesting setting, but I didn’t like the older woman-younger girl central conflict.

Series Premiere: 10/10/12

Timeslot Competition: CSI (CBS), Chicago Fire (NBC)

Post-show Thoughts: I was a little underwhelmed by the pilot. As I guessed, I didn’t like the Rayna-Juliette conflict. Juliette in particular felt a little overdone in the episode but the phone calls from her mother did help give her more depth, so I have hope that her character will be more fleshed out as the show continues.

I also wasn’t very interested in Rayna’s husband or her father’s manipulations. It was almost too much plot for one episode and I thought it took away from Rayna’s thoughts about the situation with Juliet. Even though I don’t love the concept of the conflict, I thought it was a realistic one and I would have liked to see more of it.

However, I loved the final scene and song. That was a storyline that I loved and I would love for Scarlett to play a larger role on the show (and wouldn’t mind seeing her become a huge success!). I’d love for Scarlett to become more confident in her abilities as both a singer and a songwriter.

Predictions: The show has gotten a lot of positive buzz from critics, and I think it’s the sort of show that could theoretically grow and improve as it goes on. Ratings were pretty good for a 10 PM show, although they were less than I was expecting, given its lead-in. I’m sure they weren’t what ABC wanted, but they are the highest of ABC’s new dramas so that bodes well for its future. If it keeps its ratings up, it’s a lock for full-season order.

Leave a Reply

