Premise: Emily Owens has always been somewhat awkward and struggled to find confidence. As she starts her first-year as an intern at Denver Memorial Hospital, can she find the confidence she’s always craved, impress her mentor and get her crush to fall for her?

Initial Thoughts: I did not have high hopes from the promos. The production value didn’t look very good and it just didn’t sound interesting. Also, while I was in Las Vegas, I think I saw the clip of her in the OR about a thousand times so that didn’t thrill me either.

Series Premiere: 10/16/12

Timeslot Competition: Happy Endings/Don’t Trust the B- In Apt 23 (ABC), NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS), New Girl/The Mindy Project (FOX), Go On/The New Normal (NBC)

Post-show Thoughts: The beginning of the episode was a little shaky, but I started to enjoy it a lot more by the end of the episode. The whole show reminded me a lot of Scrubs without the daydreams. Emily is a lot like JD, especially considering the voiceovers with the message at the end of the episode. This actually worked really well for me but I’m still a little hesitant about the show over all.

I loved Emily talking to the young patient and bonding with her. I think she will be a good doctor and I would really like the show to continue to focus on that aspect of her. I’d be happy with a little less of the high-school drama theme, especially with her former classmate. I like the classmate, but I’d like them to grow up a little.

I also loved Emily’s friendship with the chief of staff’s daughter. They worked really well together and I want to see them hang out outside of the hospital at some point.

Predictions: I don’t really expect a season 2 at this point. The ratings for the pilot weren’t stellar, even for The CW and I’m sure they’ll drop next week. The CW has two shows for midseason, so logically, either this show or Beauty and the Beast will only have 13 episodes and at this point, it looks like it will be this show.  

Leave a Reply

