Midseason Pilot Review: The Carrie Diaries

Premise: An adaptation of Candace Bushnell’s book by the same name, The Carrie Diaries shows you Carrie Bradshaw’s life before Sex and the City.

Initial Thoughts: I liked Sex and the City, although it’s not one of my favorites. However, I was never particularly interested in Carrie on her own, I liked everyone best when they were together as a group, so I wasn’t sure if I wanted to watch a show just about Carrie.

Series Premiere: 1/14/13

Timeslot Competition: How I Met Your Mother/Rules of Engagement (CBS), The Bachelor/Dancing with the Stars (ABC), Bones (FOX), The Biggest Loser (NBC)

Post-show Thoughts: I was completely (and somewhat unexpectedly) charmed by the pilot. I have a ridiculous love for voiceover narration, so I loved that part. I also really love stories about people finding out who they are and that seems like it will be the most important part of the show.

I didn’t love everything. I’m not quite sold on the relationship between Carrie and her sister, but I’m hoping that’s something that improves in future episodes.

What I love most of all is how well they captured Carrie’s love for New York. I know Carrie’s story on this show is going to differ some from her backstory on the show, which I’m fine with, but that’s one element that I think was essential for the writers to capture. We didn’t get to see a lot of it, but I like what I see of her friendships so far. They aren’t Samantha, Miranda, and Charlotte, nor did the writers simply choose to mimic their dynamic (which I liked), but they seem like solid friendships and I’m all for more awesome female friendships on TV.

Predictions: I’m not particularly optimistic about its long-term success. The premiere numbers weren’t as good as I would have expected them to be. I thought more people would check the show out at least but I was wrong there. It didn’t immediately flop, but if ratings stay approximately where they are, it puts them about even with the other shows with uncertain futures. If they drop, it’ll probably be an easy choice for cancellation.

Leave a Reply

