Episode of the Week: February 17-February 23

Show: Parks and Recreation

Episode Title: Ben and Leslie

This past week was one of the best weeks of television this season. Once Upon a Time was strong, Revenge is finally starting to move forward and made me genuinely feel badly for Emily for the first time in a while, The Good Wife was outstanding (seriously people, watch this show), Castle was suspenseful and Nathan Fillion broke everyone’s heart this week, there was an always welcome appearance by Sean Gunn on Bunheads, Kelly Severide and Leslie Shay continued to be one of the best male-female friendships on television in Chicago Fire, and of course, my favorite television couple got married. I will be perfectly honest, once the “to be continued” came on the screen during last week’s episode of Parks and Rec, I had already pretty much known that the wedding episode would be my pick for episode of the week and I was not disappointed.

No show makes me as consistantly happy as Parks and Rec does. This show is so full of love (both romantic and platonic) and that’s what makes it so great to me. The characters have come together and formed this beautiful, wacky family who will do whatever they need to for each other, whether it’s stealing a marriage license from City Hall, punching the jerky Councilman intent on ruining the wedding, or walking their friend down the aisle.

Best moments: Ben and Leslie’s vows to each other. The combination of the vows with the black and white montage of their history was perfectly done. Ben found a home and a life in Pawnee with Leslie and Leslie found someone who will always love and support her. I can’t think of anything more beautiful than that. I loved the repitition of “I love you and I like you”. I think it’s so important to not only love the person you are with but to like them as well and it makes me so happy to see a show recognize the difference. Ben and Leslie are partners and friends and that is what makes them strong.

Other stand-out moments in this episode: Chris’s gift to Ben, Andy and April adopting Ethel as their grandma, Ann making Leslie the perfect wedding dress, Donna singing, Jerry and Tom working together to officiate the wedding, everyone being protective of Leslie when Jamm was a drunken jerk, Ron telling Leslie what she means to him, Leslie’s face when she realized she was still getting married that night, Ron being the only person to not pass out drunk at the reception. Basically, everything was perfect.

What I didn’t love: It wasn’t longer. I could have watched this group of people run around to make the wedding happen and the drunken reception all night (and probably longer). Having another episode air right after this one helped make up for it though.

What was your favorite episode of the week? Let me know what show and why in the comments below.   

One thought on “Episode of the Week: February 17-February 23

  1. “I will be perfectly honest, once the “to be continued” came on the screen during last week’s episode of Parks and Rec, I had already pretty much known that the wedding episode would be my pick for episode of the week and I was not disappointed.”

    I felt the same way. I knew as soon as we found out that Ben and Leslie were really going to get married that nothing on TV could possibly top it. And yet somehow it surpassed even my ridiculously high expectations.

Leave a Reply

