Episode of the Week: March 3 – March 9

Show: Go On

Episode Title: Double Down

This week in television, we met Snow’s mother and Cora was more awful that usual on Once Upon A Time, Alicia struggled in her new role as partner and Peter realized he missed Eli on The Good Wife, Joe met his son on The Following, Carrie’s secret New York life was discovered and Walt decided he should date Donna on The Carrie Diaries, Tessa realized again that Dallas isn’t a bad role model on Suburgatory, the women of The Big Bang Theory were Disney princesses, Jeff celebrated a late Thanksgiving with his real family on Community, and everyone on Cult continued to creep me out. Compared to recent weeks, this wasn’t as great of a week for television. While none of my shows were bad, many were missing that something extra that takes a show from being an episode with good moments to a good episode. However, as a general rule this week, my sitcoms managed to rise above the rest with Go On leading the pack.

I have really come to enjoy this show and in my opinion, this week was a big improvement over the past few weeks. I wasn’t a huge fan of Simone’s character and her addition took away a lot of what I enjoyed about the show, which was Ryan’s interactions with the group. Having her gone this week not only allowed Ryan some personal growth but also brought back the focus on group dynamics.

Best moments: Ryan and Anne tying their wedding rings to balloons and letting them go. This show is at its best when Ryan and Anne bond over their similar circumstances and this episode really illustrated that.

Other stand-out moments in this episode: Mr. K’s ridiculous break-up song for Ryan. The group bonding over gambling.

What I didn’t love: I really want Ryan’s two worlds to be integrated a little more. I really like Steven and Carrie and I would love to see more of them although since I find Ryan’s job pretty boring, that means they need more scenes where they interact outside of the radio station. Steven’s few scenes with the group have been great and I need more of them.

What was your favorite episode of the week? Let me know what show and why in the comments below.   

Leave a Reply

