Midseason Pilot Reviews: How To Live With Your Parents (For the Rest of Your Life)

Premise: Due to the economic downturn, a single mother is forced to move back in with her parents and adjust to their lifestyle.

Initial Thoughts: I loved Sarah Chalke on Scrubs, so I was reasonably excited about watching for her. That said, I wasn’t completely sold on the concept, since I’m not a huge fan of shows or movies when characters are described as “uptight” and paired with people who are very different from them.

Series Premiere: 4/3/13

Timeslot Competition: Law and Order: SVU (NBC), Criminal Minds (CBS), American Idol (FOX), Supernatural (CW)

Post-show Thoughts: I’m not a huge fan of the pilot although the ending made me think that it could get better. It felt like it was trying to be quirky for the sake of being quirky so I hope that gets toned down a little bit. Because of that, I didn’t really like any of the characters, although that isn’t unusual for a comedy pilot.

The ending where Polly admits that it was really her who had been afraid the whole time, not her daughter, gave me some hope that the show could get better. I want to see her find herself and push her own boundaries a little although I would rather wait to see what happens with the show before sticking with it.

Predictions: The pilot got good ratings, especially for a midseason show. If it can keep it up for the next couple weeks, I think it has a shot of at least a shortened second season, especially since there will be episodes from the first season left over. ABC isn’t doing too badly with their sitcoms but if they can find something that continues to pair well with Modern Family, that may be something they are interested in capitalizing on, since their previous pairs haven’t benefitted the newer shows as much as ABC would have liked.  

Leave a Reply

