Midseason Pilot Reviews: Hannibal

Premise: Based on the novels, the show explores the early relationship between profiler Will Graham and forensic psychiatrist Hannibal Lecter.

Initial Thoughts: This show sounds like it is exactly up my alley, despite the fact that I’ve never seen any of the Hannibal Lecter films or read the books. The plot plus Bryan Fuller’s involvement pretty much guaranteed that I would like this.

Series Premiere: 4/4/13

Timeslot Competition: Scandal (ABC), Elementary (CBS)

Post-show Thoughts: I’ll preface this review that I know basically nothing about Hannibal Lecter, so I can’t say how it measures up to anything else involving the character. That being said, I really enjoyed this episode although other than the fact that I think he’s creepy, I don’t have any opinion of Dr. Lecter so far.

What I really enjoyed about the episode was Will Graham’s character. I find him incredibly fascinating and I am looking forward to learning more about him as the season progresses. I thought the use of effects to visually demonstrate the way Will is able to wipe away what is there to see what happened at a crime scene was fanstically done, but I would expect nothing less from Bryan Fuller.

I am going to remain slightly hesitant about how much I will enjoy the show until I have seen a few more episodes. The pilot was excellent but so was the pilot for The Following, which I think has decreased in quality as the season has progressed.

Predictions: Hannibal premiered approximately at Revolution, Parenthood, and Chicago Fire’s average, which is decent. It did a lot better than Do Not Harm and it has gotten a lot of positive buzz, so there is a good possibility that it can maintain similar numbers. With only a month before upfronts, I can definitely see it being renewed for a second season. At any rate, it won’t be pulled off the air early.  

Leave a Reply

