Episode of the Week: April 7 – April 13

Show: Hannibal

Episode Title: Amuse-Bouche

This week in television, The Carrie Diaries and Go On concluded their seasons, everyone at CeCe’s bachlorette party saw Nick’s penis on The New Girl, Ryan Shay chose what college he was going to attend on Suburgatory, puppet therapy solved the study group’s problem on Community, Ron ate a banana for Diane and the girls on Parks and Recreation, Glee attempted to tackle the subject of gun control and school shootings, and Cult was pulled of the air (much to my disappointment).

This week, I was choosing between three episodes to be the subject of this post, all of which aired on Thursday night. I couldn’t call this week’s episode of Glee the best, but it was probably the most discussed episode of the week. I came very close to naming Community’s puppet episode the best of the week but I think my excitement about it was partly due to the contrast between it and the Glee episode that I watched first. Therefore, the title of best episode of the week goes to Hannibal, which managed to maintain the quality (and the ratings!) of its first episode.

When I reviewed the pilot last week, I was hesitant to say that I liked the show because of The Following’s drop in quality after an outstanding pilot. After this week, I am less worried that Hannibal will suffer the same fate. I see a way to maintain this plot, at least for a couple 13-episode seasons.

Best moments: I am not going to choose a specific moment that I enjoyed the most. Instead, I am going to pick the feature that I enjoyed the most this week – the cinematography. This show is beautifully shot. It is saturated, the camera angles are interesting without being distracting, and the camera work really adds to the drama and the serious nature of the show. The scene that kept panning backward to reveal all of the mushroom bodies was very well done and did so much to give us some perspective to the size and time the crime took.

Other stand-out moments in this episode: The scene in Dr. Lecter’s office when he realized that Freddie Lounds was a tabloid reporter. Mads Mikkelsen is so controlled in his acting and the quiet anger that he portrayed in that scene was terrifying. While watching the scene, I was never quite sure what was going to happen next and I loved it.

What I didn’t love: I don’t have any complaints about this week’s episode. I love the way the larger story of Will Graham and Hannibal Lecter’s relationship is unfolding and I love the smaller case-of-the-week type stories.

What was your favorite episode of the week? Let me know what show and why in the comments below.   

2 thoughts on “Episode of the Week: April 7 – April 13

Leave a Reply

