Finale Review: Bones

Episode Title: The Secret in the Siege

Renewal Status: Renewed for season nine

Pre-finale Thoughts: I’ve loved this season. I think the Pelant arc has been delightfully creepy and spaced out enough that it doesn’t become overwhelmingly depressing and sad for the characters. I would have liked a little more follow-up on how Hodgins is adjusting to the significant decrease in money, but it’s not an essential part of his character.

I think the characters this season have been really entertaining to watch. After 8 seasons, I’m pretty attached to all of them so any sort of character moment thrills me and this season was full of them. I love the way Sweets became a part of Booth and Brennan’s family while he was living with them and I hope to see more of their friendship in the future. I love Hodgins’ relationship with all of the interns, although I would like a little more of the friendship between him and Wendell that I remember liking so much in previous seasons. I like the way the interns have given us more insight into Cam through her relationship with her daughter (and therefore Finn) and her romantic relationship with Arastoo.

I think this season has had two outstanding episodes this season not related to the Pelant arc. “The Patriot in Purgatory” and last week’s “The Pathos in the Pathogens” were extremely well done. Arastoo’s speech in “The Patriot in Purgatory” was one of the stand-out moments of this television season for me.

Finale Thoughts: Nope. Can we go back in time and try again? First of all, the case advanced nothing with the Pelant arc except to make him more creepy. He was already creepy, we’ve got that figured out all ready. Instead of some sort of progress with his case and a victory for the end of the season, viewers got to be heartbroken while Pelant was used as a horrible plot device to hurt Booth and Brennan’s relationship.

Brennan was so happy and for as much as she said it was just for Booth, you could tell that she really wanted to marry him. I know there’ll be some complaints that she wasn’t the Brennan that we met in season one, and honestly, they aren’t wrong. Booth, along with Angela and the rest of the lab, have given her a family, which she didn’t have when we first met her. She has people she cares about and people that care about her. She’s opened herself up and in return, she got the man she loves turning her down. It was partially in-character for Booth – Pelant was right that he would let 5 innocent people die so he could be happy. However, he also wouldn’t have given up without a fight, and that’s what I feel like he did.

Hopes for Season Nine: End the Pelant arc. I know I said at the beginning of this post that I liked it but the finale pushed it too far for me.

More cases with multiple interns! I loved seeing them all work together and I want it to happen more often.

 

Leave a Reply

