Finale Review: Community

Episode Title: Advanced Introduction to Finality

Renewal Status: Not yet renewed, an announcement should be made either way by Monday at the latest

Pre-finale Thoughts: I was concerned going into the season. Community has a very distinctive feel to it and it seemed like the type of show that would be fairly severely impacted by the loss of the creator/show runner. After the first episode, my concerns hadn’t gone away.

For the first part of the season, episodes were kind of hit or miss. I didn’t care about the Troy/Britta romance or Changnesia and it seemed to have lost some of it’s spark. However, toward the end of the season, I started to really enjoy the episodes again. I loved the puppet episode and I loved the fake Freaky Friday episode. Now, going into the finale, I’m sure that I’m not ready to say goodbye to this show yet.

Finale Thoughts: I liked it. I wasn’t sure where they were going with the evil!timeline but I’m really happy with the way it turned out. I liked the callbacks to earlier episodes (#sixseasonsandamovie) and honestly, if that was the series finale, I will be ok with that. Jeff has always been the main character even if others are actually more popular than he is with fandom and he has shown a lot of growth over the past four seasons. It feels right that this episode reflected that change and Jeff’s apprehension about going back to the person he was.

Hopes for Season Five: I just want to know if we are getting one at this point. I don’t want to get my hopes up too much.  

Leave a Reply

