Finale Review: New Girl

Episode Title: Elaine’s Big Day

Renewal Status: Renewed for season three

Pre-finale Thoughts: Over the past season, this show has become my second favorite comedy on air. It shares one major thing in common with my favorite show – the positive tone. New Girl is about a group of friends who enjoy each other’s company and do things like buy each other the occasional cookie because that’s what friends do. The characters all have their problems and they screw up but they are still shown as being lovable people. 

I have also been really impressed with the way they have handled Jess and Nick’s relationship so far. From their first kiss during Young Americans to their post-sex visit and talk with Nick’s dad, everything has felt very natural and organic. I don’t feel like things are being forced between them. They have just evolved from their friendship and I like that. That is how to properly get a couple together on a show.

Finale Thoughts: I think New Girl had the most enjoyable finale of the season so far. It was funny and sweet at the same time. It resolved some plot points, while opening up new possibilities for next season. It was what a finale should be. 

He doesn’t get enough love, so I’m gonna start with Winston’s story. I love his enthusiasm and ineptitude for pranking. Who else would think it was a good idea to drop an angry badger on a priest’s head to disrupt a wedding? Mostly though, what I loved the most was when he told Nick that there were other moves, that he didn’t have to be his dad. Winston may be a bad pranker, but he is a good friend. 

I fully expected CeCe to call off the wedding for Schmidt, so that didn’t surprise me at all. I do like that Schmidt wasn’t just waiting for her to realize that she still loved him. I think he genuinely cares about Elizabeth and has been enjoying the rekindling of their relationship. I think he’ll ultimately choose CeCe but I hope Elizabeth can stick around somehow because I really like her. She is so confident in herself and such a good influence on Schmidt. 

I was ready to be done with television after Nick and Jess called off the relationship. I had had enough of potential breakups or large relationship-altering events for one finale season. The end completely made up for it though. Jess does have concerns (and Nick shares those concerns) but they want to make it work anyway. They are choosing to be together now, even if it doesn’t work out. I really love that. 

Hopes for Season Nine: I hope that this show keeps up the great work it has done with Jess and Nick next season. It has been so good and I would hate for that to go away.

I’d like more Winston. He’s been underutilized and I want to see more of him.  

Leave a Reply

