Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Sleepy Hollow

Airs: Mondays on FOX at 9:00 EST

Timeslot Competition: Two Broke Girls/Mom (CBS), Dancing with the Stars (ABC), The Voice (NBC), Beauty and the Beast (CW)

Premise: Icabod Crane (Tom Milson) wakes up in 2013 after “dying” in service of General George Washington to find out that the Headless Horseman is also in the present-day with him and has begun a kiling spree. In order to stop him and prevent a supernatual disaster, Icabod must work with the local sheriff – Abby Mills (Nicole Beharie), whose gender and race causes friction with 18th century Icabod.

Pre-show Thoughts: Honestly, the show summary sounds fairly cheesy and the potential for this show to be a mess is fairly high, but I don’t care. This show is right up my alley, mostly for the supernatural and legend-based nature of it. I’m less interested in how Icabod Crane adapts to the modern day and I don’t anticipate liking his interactions with Sheriff Mills for at least the first few episodes. This looks like a fun show and as long as it is relatively well-plotted and doesn’t take itself too seriously, I think I could really enjoy it. Also, the presence of John Cho is always a plus for me.

Post-show Thoughts: To start things off, the Headless Horseman with an automatic weapon was cheesy. I found it more distracting than cool. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the shadowy beast in the end, the CGI could use a little work.  They mostly just took me out of the story, but I am hopeful that will be fixed in later episodes.

I was so wrong about Icabod and Abby! I was afraid he would be both racist and sexist, but he seemed to adjust to her quite well. I am looking forward to seeing them work together and develop a friendship. I just have one request with them – I want their relationship to be more like Joan and Sherlock on Elementary instead of the typical will they/won’t they tension that comes with many procedurals.

While the plot tries to throw together two very big concepts (The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and the book of Revelations), I thought it was pretty well done. It definitely has the potential to lose itself in the mythology but until then, I think I’m gonna enjoy the ride. It was fun to watch, the leads work well together, and it’s a nice blend of conspiracy and crime-solving. I’ll definitely be tuning in this season.

3 thoughts on “Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Sleepy Hollow

  1. I agree, I think the show was pretty good and look forward to seeing the ways it improves upon the pilot. I wouldn’t mind a will they/won’t they, but it’s gonna be super extended I think, since he has wife issues he has to deal with. I also think the combining Sleepy Hollow and The Four Horseman was clever, there it definitely room to get lost in all that mythology (witches too! and demons! and magic! and the priest! and how did John Cho know!) but combining those two was a great way to expand on the shortness of the original story (also the “7 years of trials” which gives a series timeline). Can’t wait for more!

    1. I may have changed my mind on the will they/won’t they thanks to Tumblr. I’m always a fan of platonic male/female relationships especially ones as awesome as Icabod and Abby are shaping up to be, but I don’t think I’d mind if they eventually dated once they got the wife issues sorted out.

      I’m glad that so many people seem to be enjoying this show!

      1. I too enjoy seeing a really well done m/f platonic relationship; it’s sooo rare to see it. And then usually the good ones involve shipping wars on some front or unintentional chemistry (in a non-tv example: Harry&Hermione. I love their friendship. A tv example might be: Topanga/Shawn from Boy Meets World or…. I can’t currently think of another example which is part of the point). So I’ll be happy either way, but they undeniably have romantic chemistry so I’m sure that’s where they’re planning on taking it.

        ‘m glad it turned out to be a good show, considering how little I’d heard about it before it’s premiere. I didn’t even know the show existed until the day it came on.

Leave a Reply

