Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Airs: Tuesdays on FOX at 8:30 EST

Timeslot Competition: Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (ABC), NCIS (CBS), The Biggest Loser (NBC), The Originals (CW)

Premise: When the 99th precinct gets a new captain (Andre Braugher), Detective Jake Peralta (Andy Samberg) is told that he must grow up and “respect the badge”.

Pre-show Thoughts: I have been sold on this show since the moment I heard that Dan Goor and Michael Schur were the creators. I love what they have done on Parks and Rec and I am excited to see what they do with this show. It looks funny and you know that with these two in charge, they won’t be afraid to bring some emotion with the humor.

Post-show Thoughts: I already love this show. Can it be moved somewhere so it’s not competing against the second half of NCIS and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D?

Pilots (especially comedy pilots) rarely sell me so completely on a show as Brooklyn Nine-Nine has. I laughed more than once, which is a rarity itself for a pilot, and the show feels like it knows what it wants to be. Yes, it’s a cop show and they solve cases but it doesn’t invest itself too heavily in the cases. It recognizes that this is a show about the characters and it establishes them early on.

That is two years in a row now that Andre Braugher has starred in my favorite fall pilot but this time he has an even better cast companion in Andy Samberg. Their demeanors work so well together and they balance each other out really nicely. The supporting cast is also all fun and likable already, which is a major bonus.

This will be my must-watch new show of the season. Like Parks, I can already tell it’s going to put a smile on my face every week.

2 thoughts on “Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Brooklyn Nine-Nine

  1. I’m so happy you loved this pilot too! You were 100% correct when you said it knows what it wants to be. That kind of confidence in a pilot is so rare, and it gives me so much hope for continued good things coming out of this show. It was funny, and what really surprised me was the way the jokes were funny because they came from characters and relationships I already feel like I understand. There wasn’t a lot of generic comedy content here; it was all very character-specific already, which I should have expected coming from Mike Schur.

    1. I have so much hope for this show. I know it’s in good hands and I hope it can bring me even a little of the happiness that Parks and Rec does.

      I’m glad we both enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

