Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Hostages

Airs: Mondays on CBS at 10:00 EST

Timeslot Competition: Castle (ABC), The Blacklist (NBC)

Premise: The doctor (Toni Collette) who is scheduled to perform surgery on the President of the United States is held hostage by a rogue FBI agent (Dylan McDermott) and told she must kill him on the operating table in order to save her family.

Pre-show Thoughts: Like The Blacklist, this was a show I was very ambivalent about. It was something that sounded interesting for a short time. While this is designed to be a limited-run series, fortunately, I’m still not sure it is something that can fill 15 episodes. I think the concept should be very interesting and engaging if done right – I’m going to need to get an idea of why this has to happen pretty early on to maintain my interest. If done wrong, it could easily become as drawn-out and ridiculous as The Following was last season.

Post-show Thoughts: I think this might be an unpopular opinion, but I liked the show. I still don’t think it’s sustainable for another 14 episodes, but it seemed like a fairly thriller with some political conspiracy going on in the background.

I don’t mind not knowing why this mysterious group is trying to kill the president now, but either I seriously got the wrong impression or the show has made a misstep. It seemed to me that by taking part in this, Duncan Carlisle can somehow help his wife. Readers, please correct me if I am confused somewhere, because I don’t think I like that element. I would be totally interested in a political thriller from either the point of view of Dr. Sanders and her family or from her kidnappers and the people they are working with. That on its own seems like a strong enough plot to me, if written well. Adding in information about Duncan’s family seems extraneous to me at this point.

I can’t guarantee that I’ll be watching this show weekly. After The Following last season, I’m skeptical of shows that seem like they are trying to draw out a premise longer than they should. I may however, marathon the season when it is over.

Leave a Reply

