Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Mom

Airs: Mondays on CBS at 9:30 EST

Timeslot Competition: Dancing with the Stars (ABC), Sleepy Hollow (FOX), The Voice (NBC), Beauty and the Beast (CW)

Premise: Single mother Christy (Anna Faris) is trying to restart her life by staying sober all while dealing with her mother Bonnie (Allison Janney)

Pre-show Thoughts: I love Allison Janney so I’m happy to give this show a shot. It’s hard to tell much about CBS shows since they use behind-the-scene clips instead of actual trailers but it seemed interesting enough from that. Chuck Lorre shows are hit-and-miss for me, so I’m remaining cautiously optimistic about this one.

Post-show Thoughts: I think my optimism may have been slightly misplaced although the pilot for The Big Bang Theory was widely disliked and how it’s the most watched sitcom on television.

I don’t know if I’m a big enough Anna Faris fan to watch this show. Her character has a very big personality that doesn’t quite translate to likeable. Allison Janney was fabulous as always, however. I just wish it were for a better show.

My biggest problem with the show was that the balance between serious or heart-warming and funny was completely off. This is easily something that could change as the show goes along but it felt like they’d get close to the line of having a legitimately touching moment then run away from it with a joke. One time of that is fine, a recurring pattern is another thing. The subject matter of this show is fairly serious – Christy is trying to put her life back together while repairing her relationship with both her daughter and her mother – it doesn’t need an overly obtrusive laugh track. If they dial back the humor a touch and focus more on the characters in the future, there’s a glimmer of hope that this could be a really good show.

I don’t know that this show is going to make my cut for must-see TV this season, but I will be keeping up with reviews and general opinion to see if the show gets any better compared to this fairly weak pilot.

Leave a Reply

