Fall 2013 Pilot Review: The Goldbergs

Airs: Tuesdays on ABC at 9:00 EST

Timeslot Competition:  NCIS; Los Angeles (CBS), New Girl (FOX), The Voice (NBC), Supernatural (CW)

Premise:  Based on the life of series creator Adam Goldberg, this show follows his life as a child growing up with his family in the 1980s.

Pre-show Thoughts: This wasn’t a show that grabbed me from its premise at all but the trailer looked somewhat interesting, so I could see it being a show that I might want to watch.

Post-show Thoughts: This was actually a pretty good pilot episode. From watching it, I know what sort of show it will be. It really is as simple as the premise sounds – it’s about a family in the 80s. It seems like a decent family comedy. I don’t expect anything groundbreaking from it but I don’t expect it to be awful either. It’s just a dependable, not overly complex sitcom, which is something that people could like.

Personally, I think this might actually be the show that ABC has been looking for to pair with Modern Family. I think it’s a much better fit than Super Fun Night will be.

I don’t know that this is a show I would make a habit of watching regularly, mostly because my TV-watching schedule is full enough as it is, but it’s one I could conceivably see myself watching one day when it’s the sort of show I’m in the mood for.

Leave a Reply

