Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Back in the Game

Airs: Wednesdays on ABC at 8:30 EST

Timeslot Competition: Survivor (CBS), The X Factor (FOX), Revolution (NBC), Arrow (CW)

Premise: Terry, a former All-Star baseball player (Maggie Lawson) whose career ended when she had her son and her estranged father (James Caan), also a former athlete whose career was also cut short, must work together to coach Terry’s son’s baseball team full of the kids that no other team wanted.

Pre-show Thoughts: This show didn’t necessarily look bad, it just wasn’t something that sounded very interesting to me. It should, since a central theme seems to be about finding somewhere you belong and accepting your quirks, but it just didn’t grab my attention for some reason.

Post-show Thoughts: I didn’t particularly enjoy this show. I didn’t think it was particularly funny and I am still not interested in the plot. It’s possible that the show will grow into itself and characters will be a little less one-dimensional, which would help some. I found the Cannon mostly unlikeable, even with the reveal at the end that he had actually seen all of Terry’s college games. I cheered when Terry hit Dick in the face with the ball because he was over-the-top unlikeable.

I didn’t have any problem with Terry or her son, I just didn’t think they were very interesting. The show is clearly going to have a lot of heart to it, which I can appreciate, even if it didn’t grab my attention.

Leave a Reply

