Fall 2013 Pilot Review: The Michael J. Fox Show

Airs: Thursdays on NBC at 9:30 PM EST

Timeslot Competiton: Grey’s Anatomy (ABC), Two and a Half Men (CBS), Glee (FOX), Reign (CW)

Premise: Five years after being diagnosed with Parkinson’s, Mike Henry (Michael J. Fox) goes back to work and struggles with balancing his home and work life.

Pre-show Thoughts: I have been looking forward to this show for months. I love both Michael J. Fox and Betsy Brandt and the trailer looked like the right combination of funny and emotionally satisfying. It was one of the few comedy trailers that I legitimately laughed at, so I have high hopes for this show.

Post-show Thoughts: In order to give this show the same evaluation as the others, this review is only based on the actual pilot episode rather than both the pilot and the episode they aired after it. I feel like I saw a lot of the episode just in the trailer, but my opinion hasn’t changed any. I really like this show. Michael J. Fox is just a charming individual and he has amazing chemistry with Betsy Brandt and I think this show could really be a success. It’s not afraid to shy away from the more serious moments with the family talking about how Mike’s diagnosis has changed things, but it’s not all about the downsides to Parkinsons. There is a lot of life and a lot of heart in this show.

I will definitely be watching this show this season and I see why NBC has shown the confidence in it that he has. With a few more episodes to work out the characters even more, this show is going to be great. It should make the perfect lead-in for Parenthood as well.

One thought on “Fall 2013 Pilot Review: The Michael J. Fox Show

  1. I’m so happy you liked it too! MJF is just so ridiculously likable, and his comedic timing is still excellent. I love that you singled out his chemistry with Betsy Brandt because their relationship was probably one of my favorite things about the pilot—it felt real and warm and sweet without being unbelievable. She has a lot of spunk and timing to rival his, which makes me excited to see their relationship as each episode develops.

    I was also surprised by how much the pilot made me genuinely laugh. The bit with the rolling chair had me in tears from laughing so hard.

Leave a Reply

