Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Ironside

Airs: Wednesdays on NBC at 10:00

Timeslot Competition: Nashville (ABC), CSI (CBS)

Premise: This remake of the 1960’s show revolves around a tough and sarcastic cop who heads a team that solves the most difficult crimes in the city while being in a wheelchair after being involved in an on-the-job shooting.

Pre-show Thoughts: Honestly, the summary for this show is pretty bland. It’s a procedural whose twist is that the lead character is in a wheelchair. I’ve not seen the original series, so I don’t have any other preconceived notions of what this show will or should be, but it sounds fairly basic. The concept of a basic police procedural might be the solid drama that NBC is looking for but only time will tell if this is the right show.

That being said, I don’t have any problem with police procedurals and I was interested enough in the trailer that I tentatively planned to watch the series even before seeing the pilot.

Post-show Thoughts: It was alright though nothing overly special. Blair Underwood is fantastic as the lead and he brings a lot to the role. I like that he knew the case was a suicide but recognized that there were still other people responsible for bringing Annie to that point and he wanted to catch them.

I wasn’t too interested in the case, which is unfortunate because they didn’t really include enough character moments to make up for a mostly mediocre case. I think it was important that we saw how Ironside was injured and thought the flashbacks were used well for that. I just wanted to see more. This show hasn’t found its balance yet between case and character, especially with the supporting characters. To be fair, this is only a pilot, that may change as it figures out what direction to take and solidifies the characters a little more.

At this point in time, I don’t think it’s something I will immediately keep up with week-to-week. I may pick it up again later, especially if I start hearing raves about the direction it’s heading but for now, I think I’m going to pass.

Leave a Reply

