Fall 2013 Pilot Review: The Originals

Airs: Tuesdays on The CW at 8:00 EST

Timeslot Competition:  Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (ABC), NCIS (CBS), Dads/Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox), The Biggest Loser (NBC)

Premise:  This show spins off from The Vampire Diaries to focus on the original vampires as Klaus (Joseph Morgan) attempts to retake control of New Orleans from his protege Marcel (Charles Michael Davis) while dealing with the impending birth of his part-werewolf/part-hybrid (vampire/werewolf) child.

Pre-show Thoughts: I don’t think I’m the target audience for this show, since I have never seen an episode of The Vampire Diaries. I know a little bit about the show, thanks to a friend but I’m pretty much going into this pilot blind. I am completely in the dark about the characters and their history and since the premise doesn’t really intrigue me, I don’t think it will become a favorite. I do like Phoebe Tonkin though and I am happy to see her in something else.

Post-show Thoughts: Just as a quick note, I watched the director’s cut that was released online before the episode premiered on TV, so things may have changed for the TV version.

I underestimated how much I love supernatural teen shows. As expected, I am completely uninterested in Klaus and his quest for power, but I still thoroughly enjoyed this episode. I think Elijah is an interesting character as is Hayley.

For me, this show has one thing working against it. I’m tired of male characters who are obsessed with power and some idea of family. It always seems to me that they can’t have both. They want respect (and a lot of fear) from the majority of people around them but then want their family to genuinely care for and appreciate them. In order to make people fear you, your actions probably aren’t going to endear others to you. It’s an idea that has been explored to death in recent media (most successfully by Breaking Bad) and I am bored by it. I’m ready for new stories now.

Despite my problem with the premise, this is actually a show I would consider watching. Personally, I’d like to watch The Vampire Diaries first because I want to see the characters on that show and get some more backstory, but I think there’s a good chance I’ll watch this show sometime in the future.

Leave a Reply

