Fall 2013 Pilot Reviews: The Millers

Airs: Thursdays on CBS at 8:30 EST

Timeslot Competition: Once Upon a Time in Wonderland (ABC), X Factor results show (FOX), Welcome to the Family (NBC), The Vampire Diaries (CW)

Premise: After finding out about his recent divorce, Nathan’s (Will Arnett) dad decides to divorce his mom. His mom moves in with him while his dad moves in with his sister (Jayma Mays)

Pre-show Thoughts: I had so few thoughts about this show that I had to watch the First Look promo again because I didn’t remember seeing it the first time. After watching it, I had some vague recollection of watching it back in May but I guess it didn’t stick. This one seems like it could go either way for me. I like seeing Margo Martindale in a comedic role and I always love Jayma Mays but I’m less fond of Will Arnett as an actor than a lot of other people are.

Post-show Thoughts: There was nothing outrageously bad about The Millers but it didn’t quite work for me. Both the acting and the dialogue seemed stilted and awkward at times. On the plus side, this studio audience seemed more reasonable than others from this year’s batch of pilots and they didn’t laugh over every single thing that was said.

This may be a show that eventually finds its footing (and it’s likely to get that chance, considering its lead-in) but until then, it’s not one I have any interest in watching.

Leave a Reply

