Fall 2013 Pilot Reviews: The Tomorrow People

Airs: Wednesdays on the CW at 9:00 EST

Timeslot Competition: Modern Family/Super Fun Night (ABC), Criminal Minds (CBS), The X Factor (FOX), Law and Order: SVU (NBC)

Premise: A remake of a British show, The Tomorrow People is about a group of individuals at the next stage of human evolution who develop superpowers.

Pre-show Thoughts: I am a big fan of Heroes, Alphas, and The X Men movies, which could all also be described by the premise, so on the surface, this show should be right up my alley. It definitely has the potential to be cheesy and if Heroes taught me anything, it’s the importance of a sustainable premise, so we’ll see what path this show takes. It’s unclear whether this will be primarily origin stories or people with powers working together for some common cause. Either way, I’m interested enough to really want to check it out.

Post-show Thoughts: I really wanted to like this but it did not catch my interest at all. I didn’t connect with any of the characters, which is the one thing I can’t overlook in a pilot. I need to feel like I could eventually care about them and I didn’t get that impression. I wasn’t particularly interested in the Tomorrow People vs. Ultras plot either, for that matter.

Maybe this show will get better later on, at which point I’ll re-evaluate my opinion of it and give it another shot, but for now, this one doesn’t make my to-watch list.

Leave a Reply

