Fall 2013 Pilot Review: Once Upon a Time in Wonderland

Airs: Thursdays on ABC at 8:00 EST

Timeslot Competition: The Big Bang Theory/The Millers (CBS), The X Factor results (FOX), Parks and Recreation/Welcome to the Family (NBC), The Vampire Diaries (CW)

Premise: A retelling of Through the Looking Glass, Once Upon a Time style. Alice falls down the rabbit hole, only to come back and have everyone believe she is crazy. She refuses to accept it as she makes her way back to the man she loved and left behind.

Pre-show Thoughts: I’m not a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland, but I like Once Upon a Time and I will at least check out everything that Jane Espenson is involved with. I’m curious to see what they will do with the story, especially with the incorporation of genie and Jafar. Since I’m currently watching LOST for the first time, I’m also looking forward to Naveen Andrews.

Post-show Thoughts: The pilot has a lot of the elements that I really enjoy about Once Upon a Time. I love the super saturated coloring in Wonderland, the allusions to the original fairytales and the corresponding Disney movie, and the fantastical nature of everything. It also has some of the same problems with CGI, but those really don’t bother me too badly.

That said, I still don’t know if I like it, which I think seems to largely stem from my lack of interest in Alice in Wonderland. I am curious about why they’ve crossed the story with Aladdin (which is one of my favorites) but I can tell I’m going to struggle to connect with Wonderland the way I have with Once Upon a Time. I’ll keep watching, at least for another few episodes because I do like some aspects of it, but at this point, I don’t know that it will be a high priority for me.

Leave a Reply

