Episode of the Week: November 3rd-9th

Once again, it was another great week of TV.  Taye Diggs made a memorable appearance on New Girl and the show welcomed back Coach, Diane Lockhart had her heart broken by Peter passing her over for the Supreme Court and broke all of our hearts in the process, Caitlin Fitzgerald and Allison Janney shone on Masters of Sex, and Adam Lambert reminded me just how much I love his voice on Glee.

While there were probably “better” episodes of TV this week from a critical standpoint, none made me as happy as this week’s episode of Sleepy Hollow. I even watched it twice, which is something I very rarely do.

The baseball scene was utter perfection. Abbie explaining to Ichabod what she loved about baseball told us so much about her character. She values the comfort of consistancy, recognizes the importance of partnership (a key theme in the episode), and believes that opportunities should be available for anyone without discrimination. On top of that, it was just a hilarious scene. My smile was just as big as Abbie’s was when Ichabod started yelling at the umpire. It was a nice way to start the episode and shows how close Ichabod and Abbie have become.

The partnership between Ichabod and Abbie is my favorite part of the show. I love that Abbie explained to Jenny why he’s so important to her and I love that her connection with him was strong enough that the Sin Eater could use her to find him. They are meant to be in each other’s lives, in whatever capacity that happens to be in the future. They are soul mates, though only time will tell whether it ends up as a platonic or romantic relationship. Either way, they are two people who need each other and are better because of the other and that is a type of relationship that I love to see.

It was an episode that made me happy and extremely emotional to watch and some weeks, that means more to me than anything else. I think the plot of the show is interesting but it’s the connection between characters that keeps me coming back. I’d like to see Katrina and Abbie interact more in future episodes because even with the backstory, I’m still not as interested in her as I think I should be. I also need more of Irving in the future, partly because I like him as a character and partly because Orlando Jones is a particularly awesome individual.

Leave a Reply

