Episode of the Week: December 8th-14th

Once again, it was a slow week in TV but there was still greatness to be had. Everyone realized Virginia’s perfection on Masters of Sex, Emma figured out that Henry was actually Pan on Once Upon a Time, Victoria Grayson announced that she will not be attending her son’s wedding and ruined Emily’s plans on Revenge, Dorian continued to be awesome on Almost Human, Ichabod learned about his son and the monster he created on Sleepy Hollow, there was lots of alcohol and a wolf on Trophy Wife, a victory and heartbreak on Chicago Fire, Sherlock became an AA sponsor on Elementary, everyone imagined what their lives would be like if they didn’t know Sheldon on The Big Bang Theory, and everything was sad on Parenthood.

There were two episodes of TV that I really loved this week. The first was Trophy Wife, which has grown into one of my favorite new shows of the season. It was such a fun episode and it featured the adult cast singing The Sign by Ace of Base twice and it was amazing.

My ultimate choice for Episode of the Week though was Chicago Fire’s winter finale. This show has now replaced Parenthood for show I know will make me cry weekly. I don’t think I made it more than 3 minutes in before tearing up. The main story this episode was about saving Firehouse 51 from being shut down and that alone showed off the strengths of this show. It’s about a group of people who truly love their jobs and the people they work with and a neighborhood who appreciates all the work they do for them. In an adorable callback to a previous episode, the kid that Severide saved a few weeks ago organized a petition to keep the firehouse open and it was the sweetest thing I’ve seen in a while. He sat there for hours and only got a few signatures but the neighborhood showed up when it counted.

Also in the episode, Dawson found out that she’d been accepted to the Fire Academy and Shay was so proud of her and happy for her that I cried again. I hated them fighting this season and I’m happy to see them being the amazing bffs I know they should be. Others were less supportive (I’m looking at you, Herrmann) but Shay always had her back. I’d also like to point out that Mouch has somehow become my favorite guy on this show because he just continues to be great and supportive of everyone.

Finally, there was the complete heartbreak. Casey telling Herrmann that he would go try and get the baby trapped in the fire because Herrmann had a family to worry about made my heart clench. It was such a good example of who Casey is as a person and a firefighter. He knew what a dangerous situation it was but he wasn’t going to leave that baby there if there was even a possibility of saving her. He did exactly what he set out to do but (ignoring the fact that I don’t think they’d kill of his character) it could cost him his life. Dawson trying to stabilize him in the ambulance broke my heart as did the fact that this show  finally remembered that Casey and Severide used to be best friends. As usual for this show, the shot of them all sitting in the waiting room in the hospital really made me feel for the family that the firehouse has become. They are all so close and Casey means so much to so many of them and it made me feel incredibly sad for them.

This show makes you feel so strongly about these characters, which makes episodes like this really effective. Not only does it make you concerned for the character who is actually in danger but it makes you feel badly for all the rest of them who care about that character. It is everything a show should do in my opinion and I will be anxiously awaiting the new episode on January 7th and the premiere of Chicago PD the next night.

Just a couple housekeeping notes before I end this post – this will be my last Episode of the Week post for 2013, since all but 6 of my shows are on hiatus. My season finale review for Masters of Sex will be up in the next couple of days and after that my Best of 2013 lists will start coming out. Thank you to all of you who have read these this year!

 

Leave a Reply

