Best of 2013: Characters

This was an amazing year for television. There were so many great shows, both new and returning, all filled with great characters, moments, and episodes. I couldn’t narrow down my favorites into just one “Best of” post, so this will be the first of a series of posts about my favorite things in television this year.

These characters are the ones who grabbed my heart the most this year. They may not be the best characters on their show or the most talked about, but they were the ones I loved the most. So, in no particular order, I give you my Top 10 characters of 2013!

Jaime Lannister (Game of Thrones) Season 3 belonged to Nikolaj Coster-Waldau and his portrayal of Jaime Lannister’s progression from the Kingslayer who pushed Bran out of a window into an incredibly complex character who is rediscovering his honor. The scene with Brienne in the bath of Harrenhal provided so much backstory and character development for him. He was placed in an incredibly difficult situation – torn between protecting his king, his father, and the people of Kings Landing – and he became despised for the choice he made. It was his first time he had explained himself and in doing so, showed the kind of man he had been. His journey to become that man again has been one of the most rewarding stories on TV for me this year.

Diane Lockhart (The Good Wife) I want to be Diane Lockhart when I grow up. She is smart, dedicated, and incredibly strong. I am still mad at Peter for passing her over for the Supreme Court nomination because she has earned it and I know she would be an incredible judge. Christine Baranski did a beautifully heartbreaking job portraying Diane’s devastation at losing that opportunity. I am so happy that she decided to marry Kurt, despite everyone’s protests over his political views. She did what made her happy and didn’t let anyone dissuade her and I find that inspiring. As a bonus, she was also responsible for one of my favorite comedic scenes of the season. Her reaction to Kalinda asking her about writing The Vampire Diaries fanfiction and to Damon and Elena’s sexual activities cracked me up and continues to make me smile to think about.

Ben Wyatt (Parks and Recreation) Ben Wyatt is my favorite male character on TV right now. Whether he’s reciting beautiful vows to Leslie, being concerned that Andy doesn’t know that Hogwarts isn’t real, or coming up with ridiculous board games, he consistently makes me happy. He is a loving and nerdy human being and I love him for it.

Lena Foster (The Fosters) I loved Lena for her big heart almost immediately. It doesn’t hurt that she reminds me a lot of one of my closest friends but even without that, I would love her. She cares so much about her family and the students she works with. She’s patient, supportive and truly kind. She is a beautiful character, inside and out.

Emma Swan (Once Upon a Time) I’ll admit that I had forgotten how much I love Emma until the midseason finale. This episode really made me realize how far she has come as a character. She had a hard time accepting Snow and David as her parents at first but this season, she’s really embraced them. She’s allowed herself to forgive them because she understands why they had to give her up. All she’s wanted is it to be able to have a family and now they were taken away from her again. I love that she now has happy memories of her and Henry’s past. She may not have her parents, but she got her son and for now, that’s enough.

Alison Hendrix (Orphan Black) It’s hard to pick between the clones because they are all so amazing. When we first met her, I never expected Alison to become my favorite. Maybe it was the fact that we have identical taste in music, maybe it was her blossoming friendship with Felix, or maybe it was it was the way she was forced to accept that her life wasn’t what she thought it was. Prior to meeting Sarah, Alison did everything she could to keep tight control over her life and her reaction to losing that control was so fascinating and heartbreaking to watch.

Winston Bishop (New Girl) Though he’s easily the least developed character on New Girl, I can’t help but love Winston in all of his craziness. I love his tendency to go WAY overboard with pranks and his attachment to Ferguson the cat. I want more of Winston in 2014 and maybe even an actual plot for him.

Jack Hodgins (Bones) I love Hodgins for all the reasons I love Ben Wyatt. He’s a loyal and caring friend, a loving husband, and a huge nerd. What other character would willingly play host to a bug just because he loves them so much? His joy about every single one of his science experiments is so endearing and makes me love him all over again.

Mellie Grant (Scandal) I’m cheating a little with this one because I just started Scandal this month and I’ve only seen 2 episodes that have aired in 2013. I’ve loved Mellie so much though that I am confident that she would have still ended up on this list if I were caught up with the show. She is confident, conniving, and commanding and I’m so drawn to her in scenes. She is a fascinating woman to watch and I can’t wait to catch up with this show.

Olivia Pope (Scandal) Like I said for Mellie, this is probably cheating a little. I hadn’t planned on having two characters on the same show in this list, but I couldn’t pick between Mellie and Olivia. She is such a complex character – she has done a lot of morally questionable things but she still wants to wear the white hat. She cares so much for those who work for her and above all, she does her job very well. She’s strong but we also get peeks of her vulnerability.

Honorable Mention: Bert Harrison (Trophy Wife) Bert is the most adorable kid on TV. He’s so enthusiastic and happy that you can’t help but love him.

 Who were your favorites this year?

8 thoughts on “Best of 2013: Characters

  1. I don’t watch all of these shows (actually, I don’t watch most of these shows lol, though a lot of them are on my to-watch list), but: I’ve always loved Jack Hodgins, Diane Lockhart has always seemed awesome from the few episodes of TGW I’ve seen my mom watch, and I can’t wait to meet Olivia Pope and Ben Wyatt (I’m planning on watching Scandal at some point and I’m at the beginning of S2 of Parks and Rec!). (Also, I am seriously considering just watching Game of Thrones and reading as fast as I can at the same time, because I feel like I’ll never get through the books fast enough to catch up with the tv show since the books are so long and I have so, so many things to read lol)

    I definitely agree with you about Emma Swan – I’ve always loved her but I think in Season 2 I forgot that a bit in the midst of all the intricate plotlines that season had, and this season has really brought her to the forefront of my “favorite OUAT characters”/”favorite TV characters” list again. As much as I hate that her memories of basically everything that’s happened on the show so far are gone, and that her parents were ripped away from her once again, I am also really happy that she’s gaining those memories with her son and at least a year of them will be real memories. I’m so proud of Emma and the journey she’s taken so far, and I can’t wait to see what she does in the next half of the season (which doesn’t air until MARCH I am so sad).

    1. I cannot wait for you to meet Ben Wyatt! I know you’ll love him as much as Katie and I do.

      I fully support you starting Game of Thrones then catching up with the books later! They are very very long lol.

      1. I can’t wait to meet him too! He sounds awesome and I am so excited to see him and Leslie together, they always look so adorable in the pics I’ve seen.

        I actually might be starting Game of Thrones soon because my Dad has mentioned the other day about all of my family using one of the days he and my brother have off around Christmas to do a marathon of something – either Game of Thrones, Doctor Who, or Battlestar Galactica, so we’re going to be watching something awesome lol. Plus I really want to start GoT because it looks so pretty 😉 I’ll definitely still read the books though, it just will take me a while to get through them lol.

  2. I love this list more than words can say, and it just further confirms that we have such wonderfully similar taste in TV shows/characters. Everything you said about Jaime, Ben, Winston, Diane, Mellie, and Olivia made me smile because it echoes my own thoughts about these amazing characters.

    I’m also super happy you made a list about characters because I’m just doing one for actors (which should hopefully be up by the start of next week)! So this gives me a chance to make my Top 10 Character list for this year!
    1. Emma Swan (Once Upon a Time)
    2. Diane Lockhart (The Good Wife)
    3. Nick Miller (New Girl)
    4. Danny Castellano (The Mindy Project)
    5. Juliette Barnes (Nashville)
    6. Jaime Lannister (Game of Thrones)
    7. April Ludgate (Parks and Recreation)
    8. Kevin Ryan (Castle)
    9. Louis Litt (Suits)
    10. Mellie Grant (Scandal)

  3. I love this idea and I really like your list. Diane Lockhart has long been a favorite character of mine and Jamie Lannister had one of the great story arcs this year. And it is so hard to pick among the clones of Orphan Black, although Alison’s arc is far and away one of the most interesting journeys of season 1.

    Here’s a few personal favorites of my own.

    1. Felix Dawkins – Orphan Black – In a high octane, breathlessly intense show Felix is the much needed relief. Felix is hilarious and poignant often in the same scene. He also holds my favorite line of the year when talking about Alison saying “Divorces do really strange things to normal Sarah. They lose their fake happiness, they forget the way to the mall, and then they come downtown to find themselves.” Orphan Black wouldn’t be the same show without Felix and in the sea of clones he is a marvelous anchor.

    2. Ellie – Broadchurch – In a year of some great new series none surprised me more than Broadchurch. And in the middle of an amazingly sad and equally difficult murder was the refreshingly candid and fiercely loyal Ellie. Her strength, humor and humanity served as the heart of this show and her steadfast morality its compass.

    3. Raylan Givens – Justified – There is simply no one cooler on TV than Raylan Givens. His ability to self deprecate, read people while balancing cynicism and trust makes all the ‘anti-heros’ look small. He’s a good man, with a bad past in an ambiguous world. And it makes him fascinating.

    4. Claire Underwood – House of Cards – Claire is possibly the coldest and most calculating individual on TV, which is saying something. She is unapologetic, deliberate and unforgiving. I wouldn’t want her as a neighbor or a friend but you’d be hard pressed to find someone more unilaterally focused on power.

    5. Eli Gold – Good Wife – Eli might just be my favorite character on The Good Wife. He’s had an interesting season thus far and his episode when America Ferrera guest starred proved just how much emotional depth this man has in spite of the shallow, dirty reality of his day job.

    6. Birkhoff – Nikita

    1. Thank you for commenting! I completely agree with everything you said about Felix and Eli. They are both great characters.

      Your list makes me want to watch Broadchurch even more now. I keep hearing great things about it but you’re the first person to talk about what makes Ellie great both individually and for the show overall.

Leave a Reply

