Save the Cheerleader….Again?

During the Olympics Saturday night, NBC aired this trailer for a new Heroes miniseries scheduled to premiere next year, much to the bewilderment of many on the internet. Details are extraordinarily vague with hints that some of the original cast members may pop in. Which, given the reactions of Jack Coleman, Masi Oka, and Sendhil Ramamurthy on Twitter, basically indicated to me that they really have no idea what’s going to happen yet.

Heroes was one of my first television loves and it will always hold a special place in my heart. Its first season is still one of my favorites, particularly the season finale. I’ve watched the whole series twice and the first season and second seasons more than that. I still love the cast and a cast member’s presence in a new TV show is often enough to encourage me to watch it (or move it up higher on my to-watch list if they appear in a later season).

All that being said, I don’t understand the reboot. Hasn’t Tim Kring already proven that he doesn’t know how to work within the universe he created? Is this just him finally getting his initial desire to have the show feature a different set of people every season?

Honestly, if the original cast is back, even in cameos, there is very little that will stop me from watching this. It could very easily be terrible but I still have enough affection for the show and the characters I fell in love with that it’ll be appointment TV every week, just as it was when it was on the first time. Maybe that’s what NBC is counting on – that there will be enough old fans to make this endeavor worthwhile. I don’t think they are correct about that and I don’t know that this will entice new viewers into checking the show out but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

2 thoughts on “Save the Cheerleader….Again?

Leave a Reply

