Critics Choice Television Awards 2014 Predictions

It’s time for one of my favorite sets of awards of the year! Every year, both the Broadcast Television Journalists Association and the Television Critics Association celebrate some of the best work on TV right now. The BTJA is up first with the Critics Choice Television Awards tonight so I thought I would attempt to predict the winners of all of the drama and comedy categories. I was not familiar enough with the other categories to make an educated guess of any sort, so I just left them off.

Best Drama Series
The Americans
Breaking Bad
Game of Thrones
The Good Wife
Masters of Sex
True Detective
Will Win: I am pretty sure that this award is going to come down to Breaking Bad and True Detective. Each show delivered a great 8 episodes and a ton of buzz. However, I think that Breaking Bad stuck in people’s minds longer so I’m going to go with that one for the win.
My Pick: For the first time in my brief history of following these awards, I have actually seen all of the nominees for best drama! While my favorite out of these 6 shows was Masters of Sex, as far as overall quality goes, I don’t think I can argue with a Breaking Bad win. Though there is a not-insignificant part of me that would love for The Good Wife to win, partly to make people mad that a network drama won and partly because season 5 was fantastic.

Best Actor in a Drama Series
Bryan Cranston as Walter White (Breaking Bad)
Hugh Dancy as Will Graham (Hannibal)
Freddie Highmore as Norman Bates (Bates Motel)
Matthew McConaughey as Rust Cohle (True Detective)
Matthew Rhys as Philip Jennings (The Americans)
Michael Sheen as William Masters (Masters of Sex)
Will Win: Once again, I can see this coming down to Breaking Bad or True Detective. This time, however, I think True Detective will prevail. Matthew McConaughey did a great job as Rust Cohle and I think it will be recognized.
My Pick:  It’s undeniable that both Bryan Cranston and Matthew McConaughey did a great job in their respective roles this year so a win by either would be a solid choice by the BTJA. However, my personal pick would be Matthew Rhys in The Americans. As a character, Philip struggled this year with the weight of what he and Elizabeth were asked to do and the desire to be a normal, non-spy family with Elizabeth and the kids. As an actor, Matthew Rhys played it perfectly and I truly enjoyed watching him every week.

Best Actress in a Drama Series
Lizzy Caplan as Virginia Johnson (Masters of Sex)
Vera Farmiga as Norma Bates (Bates Motel)
Julianna Margulies as Alicia Florrick (The Good Wife)
Tatiana Maslany as Sarah Manning (Orphan Black)
Keri Russell as Elizabeth Jennings (The Americans)
Robin Wright as Claire Underwood (House of Cards)
Will Win: This is one of the tougher categories to predict, as I have heard fantastic things about each of the actresses nominated. I can see a tie happening in this category between any two of Keri Russell, Tatiana Maslany and Julianna Margulies. If I had to pick one winner, I’m gonna guess Julianna Margulies for what was arguably her best season as Alicia.
My Pick: I love all the nominees that I am familiar with and would be happy with a win from any of them, but my deep love for Masters of Sex and Lizzy Caplan’s Virginia is gonna win over everything else for me.

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Josh Charles as Will Gardner (The Good Wife)
Walton Goggins as Boyd Crowder (Justified)
Aaron Paul as Jesse Pinkman (Breaking Bad)
Peter Sarsgaard as Ray Seward (The Killing)
Jon Voight as Mickey Donovan (Ray Donovan)
Jeffrey Wright as Valentin Narcisse (Boardwalk Empire)
Will Win: I’m honestly not overly familiar with most of the nominees in this category. I have only seen 2/6 shows and have only really heard anything about one other actor’s performance. It could finally be Walton Goggins’ chance to finally win something for his role as Boyd Crowder but I’m guessing he’ll be passed over again, this year in favor of Josh Charles.
My Pick: Josh Charles is also my personal choice. He did a fantastic job in “Hitting the Fan” and “The Decision Tree” and his chemistry with each of the three women he regularly acted with was a highlight of the show. After nearly 5 seasons with the show, I would love to see him be recognized for the great work he did as Will Gardner.

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Christine Baranski as Diane Lockhart (The Good Wife)
Anna Gunn as Skyler White (Breaking Bad)
Annet Mahendru as Nina Sergeevna (The Americans)
Melissa McBride as Carol Peletier (The Walking Dead)
Maggie Siff as Tara Knowles-Teller (Sons of Anarchy)
Bellamy Young as Mellie Grant (Scandal)
Will Win: I’m not sure if this is actually a very competitive category or if I’m biased because it happens to contain two of my favorite characters on TV, both of whom are great largely because of the women who play them. My impression (which is based on little other than the critics I regularly follow) is that Anna Gunn probably has the most excitement surrounding her so she is my pick to win.
My Pick: In my perfect world, this would be a tie between Christine Baranski and Bellamy Young. I need Christine Baranski to be awarded something for her portrayal of Diane at some point and this seems like a natural year to do it. Whether she was breaking everyone’s heart with her disappointment at Peter rescinding the Supreme Court offer or being the drinking partner we all want in our life, she demonstrated why she has always been my favorite part of The Good Wife. Bellamy Young makes Mellie Grant a far more compelling character than she probably should be. She gives her presence and a force to be reckoned with during the monologues her character seems to give a lot of. She makes her strong and vulnerable at the same time with just a small change in expression and more than anything, she makes you feel for this woman who has been hurt by the men in the Grant family over and over again but who survives anyway by pure force of will.

Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series
Beau Bridges (Masters of Sex)
Walton Goggins (Sons of Anarchy)
Allison Janney (Masters of Sex)
Joe Morton (Scandal)
Carrie Preston (The Good Wife)
Diana Rigg (Game of Thrones)
Will Win: I think this category is the most realistic chance for a win for Masters of Sex. The subplot with Beau Bridges’ and Allison Janney’s characters was one of the most praised in the first season and I can easily see one of them being rewarded for that. I think Allison Janney may have has the slightly stronger half of the subplot but it really could go either way.
My Pick: Assuming I’m correct in my analysis of critical opinion, I agree with them 100%. Allison Janney deserves this. Everything about the way she acted in the interview scene with Bill and Gini was amazing. I also finished The West Wing in the past year and as great as she was on that show, she was even better in Masters of Sex.

Best Comedy Series
The Big Bang Theory
Broad City
Louie
Orange is the New Black
Silicon Valley
Veep
Will Win: I normally go into any award season in which Louie is nominated certain of its win. However, this season didn’t seem to be quite as loved as previous seasons. While a win for the unusual structure and ambition of the season wouldn’t be unexpected, I think Orange is the New Black could sneak in for a win.
My Pick: I’ve only seen two of these shows but given the amount of love I have for Orange is the New Black, I don’t think watching the others would change my opinion, however enjoyable they may be. It’s hard to think back on season 1 when I’m in the middle of watching season 2, but this was one of my favorite new shows last year. It has humor, compelling dramatic moments, and an ensemble of great characters to enjoy.

Best Actor in a Comedy Series
Louis C.K. as Louis C.K (Louie)
Chris Messina as Danny Castellano (The Mindy Project)
Thomas Middleditch as Richard Hendriks (Silicon Valley)
Jim Parsons as Sheldon Cooper (The Big Bang Theory)
Adam Scott as Ben Wyatt (Parks and Recreation)
Robin Williams as Simon Roberts (The Crazy Ones)
Will Win: Even if the show Louie doesn’t win, I don’t see how this award won’t be Louis C.K.’s.
My Pick: As much as I love Ben Wyatt and everything about the way Adam Scott plays him, I think Chris Messina had a stronger year as Danny. He really settled into the character this year to make Danny a leading man we can all root for.

Best Actress in a Comedy Series
Ilana Glazer as Ilana Wexler (Broad City)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus as Selina Meyer (Veep)
Wendy McLendon-Covey as Beverly Goldberg (The Goldbergs)
Amy Schumer as Various (Inside Amy Schumer)
Amy Poehler as Leslie Knope (Parks and Recreation)
Emmy Rossum as Fiona Gallagher (Shameless)
Will Win: Without knowing much about the majority of these nominees, my gut is suspecting that Julia Louis-Dreyfus will win once again.
My Pick: This will not surprise anyone, but I always need Amy Poehler to win awards for her portrayal of Leslie Knope. It was a season of change for Leslie and whether she was saying goodbye to Ann or freaking out over Michelle Obama, Amy was as good as ever.

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Andre Braugher as Raymond Holt (Brooklyn Nine-Nine)
Keith David as (Enlisted)
Tony Hale as (Veep)
Albert Tsai as Bert Harrison (Trophy Wife)
Christopher Evans Welsh as (Silicon Valley)
Jeremy Allen White as Philip “Lip” Gallagher (Shameless)
Will Win: While Tony Hale was very good in Veep this year, I don’t see how Andre Braugher could not win this award. I had no idea that he would be well suited for comedy but he consistently made me laugh
My Pick: I think This is my favorite comedy category this year just because of Albert Tsai’s nomination. He was so adorably enthusiastic is Bert on Trophy Wife this year and I love that he was included. That being said, I completely agree that this award should be Andre Braugher’s.

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Mayim Bialik as Amy Farrah Fowler (The Big Bang Theory)
Laverne Cox as Sophia Burset (Orange is the New Black)
Kaley Cuoco as Penny (The Big Bang Theory)
Allison Janney as Bonnie Plunkett (Mom)
Kate Mulgrew as Galina “Red” Reznikov (Orange is the New Black)
Merritt Wever as Zoey Barkow (Nurse Jackie)
Will Win: I can see this going several ways. First, the OITNB nominees could split the vote, leaving the position open for someone from TBBT to sneak by. Second, the TBBT nominees could easily do the same thing but in favor of OITNB. Or, both could happen and either Allison Janney or Merritt Weaver could win. I suspect that as a show, Orange is the New Black will be the winner. Both actresses are fantastic in their given roles so I am just going to completely guess and say that Laverne Cox will win.
My Pick: As much as I enjoy the ladies on The Big Bang Theory, my vote would also be for someone from Orange is the New Black. I would actually love to see a tie between Laverne Cox and Kate Mulgrew. The casting for the supporting actresses is so strong and I think this would be a nice way to recognize that.

Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series
Uzo Aduba (Orange Is the New Black)
Sarah Baker (Louie)
James Earl Jones (The Big Bang Theory)
Mimi Kennedy (Mom)
Andrew Rannells (Girls)
Lauren Weedman (Looking)
Will Win: Sarah Baker got a lot of very positive feedback from her role on Louie this year so I could see her winning for that one episode. However, I think that Uzo Aduba has the advantage here, with a whole season of Orange is the New Black to showcase her talent. Her character was one of the best surprises of season one and I think that will be recognized.
My Pick: I really liked Lauren Weedman on Looking and James Earl Jones was a fun treat on The Big Bang Theory, but I have go with Uzo Aduba as well.

Who do you think will/should win?

One thought on “Critics Choice Television Awards 2014 Predictions

  1. I’m so happy you did this because I completely forgot to make my picks this year, which is a shame because I love talking about these awards so much more than the Emmys. I also love reading your picks because you know so much more than I do about most of these shows.

    I’ll play along and make my predictions here since I didn’t get to do a post.
    Drama Series: I agree with you that Breaking Bad just has too much momentum for anything else to beat it.
    Drama Actor: I think if Breaking Bad takes the series award, then this will go to Matthew McConaughey. If True Detective takes the series award, this is Bryan Cranston’s.
    Drama Actress: My gut tells me Tatiana Maslany is going to win again, but Julianna Margulies wouldn’t surprise me (or upset me) either.
    Drama Supporting Actor: Like you, I think Josh Charles’s stunning work in his last season will be rewarded.
    Drama Supporting Actress: Can’t Christine and Bellamy tie? Can we please will that tie into existence? Sadly, though, I think you’re right with your Anna Gunn pick, although I’m sure she is PLENTY deserving.

    Comedy Series: I don’t think anything is beating OITNB right now.
    Comedy Actor: I’m going with my heart here and saying Chris Messina will surprise everyone with a well-deserved win in this category. He’s been getting a lot of buzz lately.
    Comedy Actress: Amy Poehler every day for now and for always. 😉
    Comedy Supporting Actor: This NEEDS to go to Andrew Braugher.
    Comedy Supporting Actress: I don’t even watch the show (Yet!), but I want Laverne Cox to win so badly.

    I can’t wait to watch and live tweet this tonight! 😀

Leave a Reply

