Why You Should Watch Sleepy Hollow

Happy 4th of July to all my fellow Americans out there! I hope you are all enjoying your day off work and will be enjoying some good food and fireworks at some point today. In honor of the holiday, I thought I’d give a little love to a show that features a character in the modern world who experienced a fictionalized version of the American Revolution – Sleepy Hollow.

This show probably shouldn’t work as well as it does. It’s rooted in a religiously-based, supernatural retelling of the American Revolution but it takes place in modern times. The mythology can be convoluted and characters are often more connected than they probably should be (unless you’re an OUaT fan, in which case connections between all the characters come as no surprise). But it does and a large part of that is because of the wonderful chemistry between Nicole Beharie and Tom Mison.

As the central duo of the show, Sleepy Hollow would not work without the chemistry that these two bring to their roles of Abbie and Ichabod. They were destined to meet and against all the odds, they did. They are destined to save the world together and they believe that they can so long as they have each other. While I love the moments when Abbie teachers Ichabod something about the modern world (the baseball scene is still one of my favorites), I love the moments where their partnership is the focus.

That sort of destined partnership creates this deeply intimate and beautiful relationship that I am so drawn to in fiction. It’s a bond that can stand on its own without romantic overtures but at the same time, physical intimacy seems like the most natural step after all the emotional intimacy they share. It’s a hard dynamic to portray, especially because Ichabod is married and loves his wife even though they can’t be together, but Sleepy Hollow really makes it work. I know I can’t wait to see how the relationships between Abbie, Ichabod, and Katrina grow and evolve next season.

I also love Sleepy Hollow because it introduced me to Orlando Jones. I’m sure some people don’t love the fact that he breaks the fourth wall ALL THE TIME. It really no longer exists with him. He is an actor on the show who loves fandom (both his own and Supernatural’s) and is more than willing to engage with it. He is always happy to promote the work of talented individuals and has even connected with Henry Jenkins (professor, author, and creator of the term “acafan”) to speak at a lecture. It’s a special bond that he is able to share with the fans of his show and it makes me love both him and the show all the more.

I’ll give you two different options for questions today. If you have one, what is your favorite show based around the American Revolution or the 4th of July (episodes count too!). If not, what show you do love that probably shouldn’t work based on its description but does anyway?

 

8 thoughts on “Why You Should Watch Sleepy Hollow

  1. HELLO. Oh gosh, thanks for reminding me about this. I stopped at episode two because I was so busy, but I was absolutely intrigued by it and couldn’t wait for more. and yes, Trollando is a gift. :3

    I think one show that I was apprehensive about starting on at first was Orphan Black. Clones? eh. and even though I’m still in s1, I was proven SO wrong.

    1. Hi love ❤ Yes, definitely go back and watch after the World Cup and you are less busy. It just gets even better and you still have plenty of time to catch up before s2 😉

      Eek and yes, Orphan Black is amazing and I'm so glad you are watching!

  2. I REALLY need to watch Sleepy Hollow. It sounds like everything I love rolled into one nice little package.

    As far as shows that shouldn’t work but do, I think the first one I’d say is Orphan Black. It’s a concept that could have gone terribly wrong, but the tone of the writing and the incredible cast kept it compelling instead of gimmicky.

    Also, I’d say almost the same thing about OUAT. On the surface, it shouldn’t work: A show about a group of fairytale characters living in our world who are basically all related somehow (now with bonus time travel!). It should be cheesy and sappy (and maybe to some it is), but the talent of its cast and the sincerity (and surprising humor) in its writing has always kept it honest and—more importantly—emotionally engaging. I believe these characters when they talk about things like curses, magic, and true love, and that’s not something I really expected when I first tuned into to watch the show on a New Year’s Day marathon during its first season.

    1. Orphan Black really shouldn’t work as well as it does. Having one actress play multiple clones (especially when one is pretending to be another) should be so gimmicky but instead it’s just amazing. It has so much to say about agency, individuality and reproductive rights and it’s such a joy to watch at the same time.

  3. First and foremost, I am so glad you have been exposed to Orlando Jones. Now please go watch Drumline to see him at his most marvelous (or perhaps I am just a band geek personified).

    I will co-sign onto Orphan Black for sure. However, I would like to add into the mix among shows that shouldn’t work 24. It was flawed over the duration of its run however, season 1 proved against the odds that a show filmed in ‘real time’ could work. It was a concept that had failed before in many places and they managed to pull it off. It was also a show in season 1 proved that no one was safe. It took out characters and did plot shifts that were surprising and often could stretch the realm of plausible, yet the show managed to make it compelling and Keifer Sutherland both sympathetic and someone we rooted for throughout the series.

    1. I remember watching part of Drumline at some point in the past and liking it so I will have to go back and watch the whole thing now that I know Orlando Jones is in it!

      I’m glad you brought up 24! It’s a show I know extremely little about and I’m happy to know that at least season 1 is well worth watching. I don’t mind a bit of implausibility in my shows as long as I can root for the characters involved.

  4. I’m so glad you wrote about Sleepy Hollow because I totally agree with you! I like it quite a lot, and I don’t know if I would like it quite so much without the partnership between Abbie and Ichabod. I love that their friendship is so strong that it comes with the type of emotional intimacy usually only seen in romantic partnerships in TV, and I can’t wait to see what they bring us in Season 2. Also, Orlando Jones is a gift to fandom – he truly tries to understand/learn from and engage with fans, and he’s done all of this in some of the most respectful ways I have ever seen from an actor. Bravo to him.

    I definitely agree with everyone about Orphan Black – it’s a show that seems like it wouldn’t work, but with the wonderful writing and fantastic acting, it’s such an amazing show. (And I haven’t even seen S2 yet!)

    To be honest I don’t know if I can think of another show that I watch that unexpectedly works? I watch a lot of procedurals and those usually do pretty well, and are expected to do well (although these days with the market so saturated with procedurals perhaps it’s less of a sure thing). I’ve been hearing a lot about In The Flesh, a BBC production about zombies that actually sounds amazing and I want to try it out soon, which I guess would probably fit into this “unexpectedly works” category, but since I haven’t actually watched it yet I can’t properly talk about it :p

    1. I love that you love Sleepy Hollow as much as I do ❤

      You'll have to let me know what you think about In the Flesh! I'm normally not a big zombie fan but if you like it, I would definitely give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

