Golden Globe Predictions 2015

It is nearly time for the Golden Globes! It’s one of the most fun award shows of the year while also being the most random. The Globes are more likely to reward new shows than the Emmys and they’ve also been known to make the unexpected choices so it could be anyone’s game. I attempted to predict who the HFPA would choose as well as offered my own picks. Who do you want to see win tonight?

Best Drama Series

The Affair

Downton Abbey

Game of Thrones

The Good Wife

House of Cards

Will Win: I know the Golden Globes likes new shows so I suspect The Affair will win for it’s unusual story-telling style and it’s stellar cast.

Should Win: I haven’t seen all of these shows but I need The Good Wife to be rewarded somehow for its stellar work in the 5th season.

Best Musical or Comedy Series

Girls

Jane the Virgin

Orange is the New Black

Silicon Valley

Transparent

Will Win: What a tough category. Cases could be made for so many of these shows but my gut is telling me it’s Orange is the New Black’s year to win it though I wouldn’t be surprised by Transparent or Silicon Valley.

Should Win: Three of these shows made my list for Best of 2014 so my heart is being pulled in multiple directions. I would really love to see Jane the Virgin win because it feels so different from everything else on TV and it makes a great case for a quirky and emotionally engaging show that is also really well done.

Best Actor Performance in a Television Series – Drama

Clive Owen as John “Thack” Thackery (The Knick)

Liev Schreiber as Ray Donovan (Ray Donovan)

Kevin Spacey as Frank Underwood (House of Cards)

James Spader as Raymond “Red” Reddington (The Blacklist)

Dominic West as Noah Solloway (The Affair)

Will Win: With absolutely nothing to go off of, since I don’t watch the majority of these shows, nor do I have any idea of their critical acclaim, my money is on James Spader just because I feel as though he is well-liked.

Should Win: I really have no preference in this category. Dominic West did a good job as Noah but I’m not incredibly attached to his performance.

Best Actress Performance in a Television Series – Drama

Claire Danes as Carrie Mathison (Homeland)

Viola Davis as Annalise Keating (How to Get Away With Murder)

Julianna Margulies as Alicia Florrick (The Good Wife)

Ruth Wilson as Alison Lockhart (The Affair)

Robin Wright as Claire Underwood (House of Cards)

Will Win: Viola Davis. It was a huge deal to get her on a television show and she’s magnetic every week. The scene where she removed her make-up before confronting Sam was one of the best on TV last year and I think she’ll be rewarded for it.

Should Win: I’d be happy with Viola Davis winning but I also wouldn’t object to either Julianna Margulies or Ruth Wilson. Both did really wonderful things this year on their respective shows.

Best Actor Performance in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy

Louie C.K. as Louie (Louie)

Don Cheadle as Marty Kaan (House of Lies)

Ricky Gervais as Derek Noakes (Derek)

William H. Macy as Frank Gallagher (Shameless)

Jeffrey Tambor as Maura Pfefferman (Transparent)

Will Win: Louie C.K. and William Macy have been award show staples and both had great years so they could conceivably win but I think it’ll be Jeffrey Tambor for his work on Transparent.

Should Win: Jeffrey Tambor, hands down. He gave one of my favorite performances of the year.

Best Actor Performance in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy

Lena Dunham as Hannah Horvath (Girls)

Edie Falco as Jackie Peyton (Nurse Jackie)

Julia Louis-Dreyfus as Selina Meyer (Veep)

Gina Rodriguez as Jane Gloriana Villanueva (Jane the Virgin)

Taylor Schilling as Piper Chapman (Orange is the New Black)

Will Win: I assume that this award will go to the unstoppable Julia Louis-Dreyfus for another hilarious season on Veep.

Should Win: I want Gina Rodriguez to win so badly. She’s doing a fantastic job and since my introduction to her last year has become one of my favorite actresses.

Best Actor Performance in a Miniseries or Television Film

Martin Freeman as Lester Nygaard (Fargo)

Woody Harrelson as Martin Hart (True Detective)

Matthew McConaughey as Rustin Cohle (True Detective)

Mark Ruffalo as Ned Weeks (The Normal Heart)

Billy Bob Thornton as Lorne Malvo (Fargo)

Will Win: Is this even a question at this point?  I have no doubt that it’ll be Matthew McConaughey.

Should Win: I think I enjoyed watching Billy Bob Thornton the most in the past year but Matthew McConaughey did such a great job that I’m not opposed to him winning either.

Best Actress Performance in a Miniseries or Television Film

Maggie Gyllenhaal as Nessa Stein (The Honorable Woman)

Jessica Lange as Elsa Mars (American Horror Story: Freak Show)

Frances McDormand as Olive Kittridge (Olive Kittridge)

Frances O’Connor as Emily Hughes/Walsh (The Missing)

Allison Tolman as Molly Solverson (Fargo)

Will Win: Once again, we’ve come to a category that I am very unfamiliar with. Jessica Lange constantly does a great job on AHS but there is a strong argument to be made in favor of all these actresses. My guess is that Lange will win again.

Should Win: I’ve only seen one of these performances, so it’s difficult to say for certainty, but I loved Allison Tolman on Fargo this year. She gave another one of my favorite performances of the year and I’d love to see her win this.

Best Supporting Actor Performance in a Series, Miniseries, or Television Film

Matt Bomer as Felix Turner (The Normal Heart)

Alan Cumming as Eli Gold (The Good Wife)

Colin Hanks as Gus Grimly (Fargo)

Bill Murray as Jack Kennison (Olive Kittridge)

Jon Voight as Mickey Donovan (Ray Donovan)

Will Win: This is such a talented group of nominees. In such a competitive field, my gut tells me Matt Bomer will win for his role in The Normal Heart.

Should Win: I’ll be rooting for Alan Cumming. He is consistently wonderful as Eli and I need The Good Wife to be recognized in any way possible.

Best Supporting Actress Performance in a Series, Miniseries, or Television Film

Uzo Aduba as Suzanne “Crazy Eyes” Warren (Orange is the New Black)

Kathy Bates as Ethel Darling (American Horror Story: Freak Show)

Joanne Froggatt as Anna Bates (Downton Abbey)

Allison Janney as Bonnie Plunkett (Mom)

Michelle Monaghan as Maggie Hart (True Detective)

Will Win: These performances are all so different, which I guess is inevitable in a category that includes everything scripted that can air on television. I suspect Kathy Bates will win. She’s a great actress and AHS is an award show favorite.

Should Win: The OITNB fan in me wants to see Uzo Aduba win. She brings so much depth to Suzanne and this was another strong season for her.

Best Miniseries or Television Film

Fargo

The Missing

The Normal Heart

Olive Kitteridge

True Detective

Will Win: It’s been True Detective’s year even with the backlash over the ending. The only other thing that could beat it is Fargo.

Should Win: I slightly preferred Fargo to True Detective and I haven’t seen the other three miniseries/films yet so I guess Fargo would be my choice.

Leave a Reply

