TV Thoughts: 2/1-2/7

It must be sweeps because so many of my shows had big episodes this week. We learned the identity of Sin Rostro, Katrina took her first steps toward being evil, Mindy found out that she is pregnant, Donna got married, Fresh Off the Boat premiered and Nashville returned just as crazy as the last 10 minutes of the midseason finale suggested it would. I really enjoyed many of the episodes this week and I hope you all did too.

Monday

  • Jane the Virgin: This week was great for me and Jane the Virgin for two reasons. First, how great was that episode? I love the Sin Rostro reveal and once again, the post-production work on this show has been stellar with the drop of blood falling out of Sin Rostro’s name in the narration. It also featured Jaime Camil’s best work of the season. That death scene was perfect and it led to Jane calling him “Dad” for the first time, which completely warmed my heart. These two have come so incredibly far in a short amount of time and I have really enjoyed watching their relationship grow and continue to deepen. Finally, this episode also was the perfect example of why Jane means so much to me. Her conversation with Rafael about choosing to see the best in people was everything I want more of in television. I want more genuinely good people who want to see the good in others. I want to see people believe in others and support them even if others think they are foolish. I want more people who will sit down and listen to a woman who has caused nothing but problems for them and offer support. I am so grateful that that is the philosophy this show chooses to promote.
  •  
  • This show also meant a lot to be this week because I was able to visit the set of the show, thanks to a very generous friend. We got a tour of the various sets, meet a few of the cast members, and watch a scene film from an upcoming episode. My lips are sealed about future occurrences on the show but what I do want to say about this incredible experience is that the people involved with this show on every level are so kind and enthusiastic about what this show sets out to do. They genuinely love it and the people they work with. It was an honor to meet the cast, who is in fact as lovely as they appear to be, and a true pleasure to have this opportunity. If you like watching good things happen to good characters on TV, then please tune in and support this show. Not only is it a great show on it’s own merits but I want these incredible people to get to work on this show for a long time to come.
  • Sleepy Hollow: I am all for an evil Katrina. It adds something to her character that has been lacking and even if it’s a disaster, at least it’s something for her to do. It’s also a way to reintroduce Henry to the group as a whole as an antagonist. Henry’s clearly there but Team Witness is crippled so long as Katrina continues to fight for him. Now if she’s fighting with him, not only would it make that mother-son relationship more interesting but it will also provide the catalyst needed for Katina and Ichabod to officially realize that their marriage isn’t going to work in the modern world. No matter what they were like it in the past, they haven’t been on the same page since they brought Katrina from Purgatory and they need to recognize that and put them and the audience out of their misery.
  • The Fosters: Now that Parenthood has ended, I appreciate The Fosters even more. I need my weekly dose of family drama full of characters I love. It’s the little moments with this family that make episodes worth it to me. It’s scenes like Stef enthusiastically embracing twerking once Lena demonstrated what it was. It’s scenes like the ending and everyone having fun as a family together in the lake. The plots of the episode are not the interesting parts to me (though I’m not sorry to see Haylee go), it’s these characters and the love they have for each other.

Tuesday

  • Parks and Recreation: This show does weddings so well. Each perfectly fits the couple and they have all been beautiful in their own way. I loved April being strict with Donna’s relatives to pull off a calm day for her (then bringing in her brother to add some drama back), Andy comforting Genuwine, Donna’s speech to both Leslie and April, and Donna’s vows to Joe. It was just a perfect day for Donna and I’m so thrilled that she got to find happiness with someone who loves her for who she is in this final season. I am also really excited about Ben’s final story. I love that Leslie is 500% behind her husband running for Congress and finds his political speeches sexy in true Leslie fashion. She’s got her dream job that she’s kicking ass at and now it’s time for Ben to find his place to truly excel. I cannot wait to see how this plays out for the final few episodes of the season.
  • The Mindy Project: A few months ago, I read a blind item about an unplanned pregnancy popping up on a show and TMP was the most popular guess. So after Mindy Kahling’s tweets about this episode, I wasn’t as surprised by the ending as most. I’m still not 100% sure I love this twist but honestly, this show hasn’t let me down so far and I can see a lot of potential humor and good moments arising from it so I’m choosing to stay positive about what this means for the show. Of the two changes in this episode, I’m actually the most disappointed about Peter’s departure, even though I was prepared for it. I really love the dynamic that he found with Mindy and their friendship and I’m sad to see it go. I’m glad it was Peter who revealed the pregnancy and I’m really happy with the way that whole scene played out. Obviously Mindy isn’t moving to California now but I do hope she manages to find the same exciting professional opportunity in New York because I’ve enjoyed that side of Mindy.
  • Chicago Fire: I should not have finished this episode in the airport because the ceremony for Shay made me a crying mess. It’s not a secret that this has been a plot that has affected me emotionally since the start of the season and this was a beautiful way to (mostly) wrap it up. Anytime this firehouse is in their dress blues, it’s pretty much guaranteed that I’m going to cry but them saying goodbye to and honoring one of their own was beautiful. I loved Gabby’s speech and I loved Severide unveiling the lettering honoring Shay on the side of the ambulance. The arson plot was a little messy, especially since it also tied into Peter’s dad’s death, but I don’t care. I’m not watching this show for the plots or for particularly innovative scenes of firefighters doing their job. At the end of the day, I watch for the characters and this show gives me plenty to love.
  • The Flash: I don’t have much to say about the actual episode but I had to say how much I enjoyed hearing Grant Gustin sing again. I hated his character on Glee, which probably influenced how I felt about his singing, but I had a blast watching and listening to the karaoke scene. I need more of Barry and Caitlin hanging out in the future (preferably also with Cisco) and these guys getting to have fun and enjoy each other’s company outside of STAR labs. I’m also proud of Barry for getting a date and attempting to truly move on from Iris and respect that Eddie is the one she has chosen to be with for right now.

Wednesday

  • The Americans: Philip and Elizabeth fitting Annaliese into the suitcase ranks right up there with Hannibal for disturbing things I never expected to see on TV. The sounds and the brokenness won’t be something I easily forget so well done to the show for creating such a disturbingly memorable scene. I need to single out Annet Mahendru’s performance in this episode. Her haunted and defeated response to her imprisonment was so beautifully acted. Her message to Oleg and everything Mahendru was doing with her face and body language ranks among the best this show has done and that’s no easy feat. This show continues to surprise and excite me every week by the strength of all the performances and I think this season is shaping up to be my favorite yet.
  • Fresh Off the Boat: I liked the second episode a little more than the first. It definitely made me laugh more, which is a plus. I am going to reaffirm my statement that Constance Wu is fantastic on the show and this episode is worth watching for the car-hitting and onion-throwing scene. It’s not top of my priority list for weekly shows but it’s one I’ll work my way around to at some point this year.
  • Nashville: I’m pretty sure there isn’t a character I hate more on television that Luke Wheeler and I cannot tell you how glad I am that Rayna called off the wedding. He was never a good partner to her and that’s what a woman like Rayna deserves. I felt badly for their kids, who have been through an awful lot, but I hope they manage to stay in touch and the fall-out that we all know is coming won’t impact them too much. There were a lot of other things going on in the episode but those stories are clearly just beginning and I’ll look forward to watching them unfold over the rest of the season.

What did you think about this week of TV? Did anything stand out to you, for better or worse?

3 thoughts on “TV Thoughts: 2/1-2/7

  1. First of all, I’m so happy that you had such a wonderful time on your set visit, and it’s so nice to know that the cast of Jane the Virgin is as wonderful and enthusiastic as they seem. Everything you write about this show has me getting more and more excited for the day I start watching it! It seems like a perfect fit for me—you know I love shows about good people who believe in others.

    I also saw that blind item (back when people in the OUAT fandom were guessing it was about one of those characters), and TMP always seemed like the strongest contender, so I also wasn’t very surprised by it once I saw Mindy Kaling talking about this episode’s ending being one people would need to talk about. After reading a whole bunch of interviews after the episode, I feel pretty hopeful about how it’s all going to play out. I think the fact that this show hasn’t really messed any of the important stuff yet helps me hold onto that hope.

    YES to your comments about Annet Mahendru on The Americans this week. Her scene with Oleg’s father was incredible. I’m loving how this season is shaping up so far, and I can’t stop thinking about which side is going to be the one to get her out of that prison and what they’re going to have to sacrifice in order to do it. (My gut reaction says Oleg/Arkady will find a way before Stan, but I could see Stan using the defector we just met as leverage. Or maybe they’ll work together?)

    And on a final note, Luke continues to be THE WORST. I’m so glad Rayna dodged that bullet. And thank God for Avery and Juliette injecting some joy into that Nashville episode. They’re so cute I can barely handle it.

    1. I agree that Oleg and Arkady will find a way to rescue Nina before Stan. Stan has so much going on right now and he is becoming more and more lost as the episodes go on that I don’t think he quite has the mental space to devote to rescuing Nina on his own. Oleg wants her back so much and I don’t think much will stop him from saving her. That scene in the alley with Stan was so good. He’s been just as broken by this as Nina is and I just want them back with each other and safe. Who knew I’d end up with all these feelings about them?

      Avery and Juliette are so cute. I love the new home for the chair because it’s perfect and she’s letting him all the way into her life again and it’s everything I could have wanted for these two. Gunner tackling Avery in excitement was also adorable and made me smile.

      1. Gunnar tackling Avery may have been the single happiest thing I’ve seen on TV in a long time. It was so adorably unexpected.

        Also, thank you for making me feel less alone in the somewhat frightening intensity of my Oleg feelings. 😉

Leave a Reply

