TV Thoughts: 3/1-3/7

I’ve had to skip the past few of these in favor of catching up on all the TV I’m currently behind on (which is still a lot but getting better!) but there were a few shows this week that I couldn’t resist talking about. I may have watched very little, but it was an extremely rewarding week between these two shows and The Americans, which I will talk about in the comments of Katie’s wonderful episode review.

Monday

The Fosters: I was 3 episodes behind on this show but read some spoilers that made it a priority for me to catch up and I’m glad I did. This show makes me feel deeply every week and for that, it’s one of my favorite shows on TV right now. This week had three moments that particularly grabbed my heart. First was the scene where Rita comes to help Kiara leave her pimp. Rita cares for the girls in her care so much and that doesn’t end when they move out of the Girls United home. She wants to provide that safe space for them to grow up and achieve their dreams no matter how far away they seem. She cares for girls who others would pass over because of their history or attitude and that’s just a remarkable thing for me. Rosie O’Donnell is doing such a good job with this character and both scenes with Kiara were full of so much love and compassion.

Second was Callie’s final scene with Stef, where she confesses that she wanted to live with Robert because she lied to Stef and Lena and was afraid they wouldn’t want her any more. Of her two moms, Stef is the one who has the most in common with Callie. Both are so scared to let people all the way into their lives. They are naturally less open and because of that, the scenes where Stef reassures Callie of her unconditional love for her are always beautiful because Stef is one of the few people Callie would actually believe.

Finally, everything Jude and Connor related gave me entirely too many feelings. Watching Jude experience his first crush and try to figure out what it means to him has been handled so wonderfully. I feel like Jude accepting that he has a crush on another boy has been a relatively easy process for him, which fits with his character and a few of the talks he’s had with Lena where she has been so reassuring that no matter what, who he is and who is loves is okay. It’s been a harder process for Connor and that finally came to a head in this episode. Jude is frustrated by the fact that he has a crush on someone who is giving him such mixed signals and I don’t think that will go away anytime soon, even after the kiss but it was Connor telling him that he does care and that Jude is his first choice. I suspect it will be a hard journey for them but I want so badly for it to turn out well and for both of them to be happy and loved by those around them.

Other

The 100: I watched the pilot of this show a couple weeks ago and didn’t love it, but saw a lot of potential in it. I was in the mood for something a little new and different from what I had been watching, so I thought The 100 would fit the bill perfectly. I figured if I could watch 2-3 episodes throughout the week in between my other catch up, I’d be doing pretty good. That didn’t happen, I watched the other 12 episodes of the first season and very little else. So I’m still behind on my other shows but I found something new to completely fall in love with.

This show has so much for me to love. The characters are complex and grow and make morally objectionable decisions and sometimes they feel badly about them and sometimes they don’t. They are fighting for their survival and aren’t afraid to do what it takes to ensure their own survival or the survival of those they love. They feel deeply and care for those around them and have become a community of people who were never expected to survive, let alone thrive. They are a group of teenagers sent to investigate if the Earth was survivable and not only have they survived, but they’ve made it their home. This is their world now and they’ve built it from scratch. They’ve had to decide what kind of world they want to live in and they have fought to create that world. They are fighting against the elements and other people on Earth (who they didn’t even realize existed until one of their own was hit with a spear) and each other and it’s changing them all. It’s a show that draws you in and makes you want to keep watching to see what happens to these people who are so easy to care about and root for, despite their flaws and choices.

The women on this show are amazing and badass and inspiring in so many ways. They are physically, mentally, and emotionally strong because they’ve had to be but they aren’t without their vulnerabilities. They may have issues with boys but they work together and gets things done because they have to, even if it hurts. They are leaders and essential to the survival of their people in different ways.

Season one left off on a huge cliffhanger and I can’t wait to dive into season two and catch up on this show as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

