2015 Emmy Predictions

The primetime Emmys are on this Sunday so that means it’s time for my predictions. I’m largely disappointed by Emmy nominations every year because my taste does not apparently line up with the Academy’s. Amidst the disappointments (still minimal recognition for The Americans), however, there were some victories (Tatiana Maslany’s nomination). I’m notoriously bad at predictions that the Emmys this year are likely to be more unpredictable than usual but that won’t stop me from giving it a shot. For more Emmy fun, head over to Nerdy Girl Notes and her FYC post for Parks and Recreation and write one of your own in the comments.

Outstanding Drama Series

  • Better Call Saul (AMC)
  • Downton Abbey (PBS)
  • Game of Thrones (HBO)
  • Homeland (Showtime)
  • House of Cards (Netflix)
  • Mad Men (AMC)
  • Orange is the New Black (Netflix)

My Pick: I’ve only seen Orange in the New Black and most of Game of Thrones out of these nominees so I don’t have a large stake in this race. So in lieu of much information, I’d like to see Mad Men win for its final season.

Prediction: It’s the final season and last year’s winner isn’t in the race any more so I don’t see any reason for Mad Men not to win this.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series

  • Kyle Chandler as John Rayburn (Bloodline)
  • Jeff Daniels as Will McAvoy (Newsroom)
  • Jon Hamm as Don Draper (Mad Men)
  • Bob Odenkirk as Jimmy McGill (Better Call Saul)
  • Liev Schreiber as Ray Donovan (Ray Donovan)
  • Kevin Spacey as Frank Underwood (House of Cards)

My Pick: I want Jon Hamm to win. He doesn’t need to add to the list of actors who inexplicably haven’t won an Emmy for their iconic character.

Prediction: I actually have no confidence that Hamm will actually win so my next guess is Kevin Spacey because Frank Underwood seems like a character who would be well-appreciated by voters and he’s Kevin Spacey.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series

  • Claire Danes as Carrie Mathison (Homeland)
  • Viola Davis as Annalise Keating (How to Get Away with Murder)
  • Taraji P. Henson as Cookie Lyon (Empire)
  • Tatiana Maslany as Various Characters (Orphan Black)
  • Elisabeth Moss as Peggy Olson (Mad Men)
  • Robin Wright as Claire Underwood (House of Cards)

My Pick: There are just too many options here, it’s the most wonderful problem with awards lately. I would honestly be happy with nearly all of these actresses and could make a case for them all. As much as I love Tatiana Maslany and am continuously blown away with her work, I’m rooting just a little more for Taraji P. Henson. She’s incredible on Empire and she reins in the loudness of her character with a very skilled touch. Cookie could be ridiculous and over-the-top and she is but she’s also very human and finding the balance with that kind of character can be tough to do but Henson does it so well.

Prediction: I think Henson will win. It would be the second in a row for a network actress to win this but she played the character everyone was talking about last season and it’s hard not to see that rewarded.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series

  • Jonathan Banks as Mike Ehrmentraut (Better Call Saul)
  • Jim Carter as Charles Carson (Downton Abbey)
  • Alan Cumming as Eli Gold (The Good Wife)
  • Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister (Game of Thrones)
  • Michael Kelly as Doug Stamper (House of Cards)
  • Ben Mendelsohn as Danny Rayburn (Bloodline)

My Pick: Even in a season that was less strong that the one before, Alan Cumming’s portrayl of Eli Gold remains one of the best things about it.

Prediction: My gut says Jonathan Banks. With a character developed on Breaking Bad and a continued strong performance on Better Call Saul, it’s time for him to win since he’s not competing with former co-star Aaron Paul.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series

  • Uzo Aduba as Suzanne Warren (Orange is the New Black)
  • Christine Baranski as Diane Lockhart (The Good Wife)
  • Emilia Clarke as Daenerys Targaryen (Game of Thrones)
  • Joanne Froggatt as Anna Bates (Downton Abbey)
  • Lena Headey as Cersei Lannister (Game of Thrones)
  • Christina Hendricks as Joan Harris (Mad Men)

My Pick: Once again, you can’t go wrong. My undying love for Christine Baranski makes her my default choice though. She’s just fantastic.

Prediction: I think Lena Headey will finally be recognized for her complicated portrayal of Cersei Lannister. She could be despicable and often is but Headey adds so much depth and her walk across King’s Landing was a scene to remember.  

Outstanding Comedy Series

  • Louie (FX)
  • Modern Family (ABC)
  • Parks and Recreation (NBC)
  • Silicon Valley (HBO)
  • Transparent (Amazon)
  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (Netflix)
  • Veep (HBO)

My Pick: This will surprise absolutely no one but Parks and Recreation needs to win this.

Prediction: If my history with the Emmys is any indication, I will be disappointed yet again at the lack of Outstanding Comedy Award for Parks. Instead, I think Transparent will win, which is also well deserving even if I’m not fully onboard with its inclusion in the comedy category.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series

  • Anthony Anderson as Andre ‘Dre’ Johnson, Sr. (Black-ish)
  • Don Cheadle as Marty Kaan (House of Lies)
  • Louie C.K. as Louie (Louie)
  • Will Forte as Phil ‘Tandy’ Miller (The Last Man on Earth)
  • Matt LeBlanc as Himself (Episodes)
  • William C. Macy as Frank Gallagher (Shameless)
  • Jeffrey Tambor as Maura Pfefferman (Transparent)

My Pick: Still with the asterisk about Transparent leaning heavier on the drama side of things, even if it is only 30 minutes long but Jeffrey Tambor did great work. And it is always a pleasure to hear him speak about the show.

Prediction: I don’t even know who to pick with Jim Parsons not in the list. Maybe it’s finally Louie C.K.’s year.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

  • Edie Falco as Jackie Peyton (Nurse Jackie)
  • Lisa Kudrow as Valerie Cherish (The Comeback)
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus as Selina Meyer (Veep)
  • Amy Poehler as Leslie Knope (Parks and Recreation)
  • Amy Schumer as Amy/Various Characters (Inside Amy Schumer)
  • Lily Tomlin as Frankie Bergstein (Grace and Frankie)

My Pick: Amy Poehler. Like Jon Hamm, I need Poehler to win for everything she did as Leslie Knope.

Prediction: I have approximately as much expectation for Poehler as I do for Hamm. As it did last year, this is Julia Louis-Drefus’s honor.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

  • Andre Braugher as Ray Holt (Brooklyn Nine-Nine)
  • Tituss Burgess as Titus Andromedon (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt)
  • Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy (Modern Family)
  • Adam Driver as Adam Sackler (Girls)
  • Tony Hale as Gary Walsh (Veep)
  • Keegan Michael-Key as Various Characters (Key & Peele)

My Pick: There is a ton of talent in this category and many good choices. That said, I need Andre Braugher to win.

Prediction: Ty Burrell could easily win again because Emmy voters love him but I think Keegan Michael-Key could pleasantly surprise us with a win.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

  • Mayim Bialik as Amy Farrah-Fowler (The Big Bang Theory)
  • Julie Bowen as Claire Dunphy (Modern Family)
  • Anna Chlumsky as Amy Brookheimer (Veep)
  • Gaby Hoffmann as Alexandra ‘Ali’ Pfefferman (Transparent)
  • Allison Janney as Bonnie Plunkett (Mom)
  • Jane Krakowski as Jacqueline Voorhies (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt)
  • Kate McKinnon as Various Characters (Saturday Night Live)
  • Niecy Nash as Denise “Didi” Ortley (Getting On)

My Pick: I had the most of my dream nominees actually make the ballot in this category so choosing just one is extremely difficult. Since I don’t think her chances of winning are great, I’m gonna choose Niecy Nash as my personal choice. There is a lot of good things that can be said about Getting On but from the beginning, Nash has infused the show with compassion. She’s struggling to get by but her own challenges never affect the amount of humanity and respect she brings to her patients. Elder care is never an easy job but Nash captures the rewards and many frustrations with equal ease. I would not love the show as much as I do without her performance.

Prediction: If this doesn’t go to Emmy-favorite Allison Janney, then I think Anna Chlumsky will finally be recognized for her role on Veep. Neither submission episode is pure comedy but I preferred Chlumsky’s perfectly delivered rant to Janney’s funny and heartbreaking relapse and I suspect voters may as well.

 

Leave a Reply

