2015 Fall TV Kickoff

It’s the first day of the 2015-16 television season and our old favorites are returning and new shows are starting up. It’s an exciting time of year as we wait to see what new shows we fall in love with and start new stories in the shows we already love.

There is a sense of anticipation heading into the new season. What will network ratings look like this year? Will Empire still be a success? Will Sleepy Hollow get back to what makes it good again? What will be the first show to be renewed? What will be the first show to be cancelled? There are a lot of unknowns and a lot of possibility and that makes me happy. At some point in the season, something will disappoint me but there will also be something that captures my interest in a way that I didn’t expect.

While early reports don’t suggest a strong season for new shows, my excitement hasn’t been diminished. With the exception of a few shows that seem to be generally accepted or hated, most have been met with mixed reviews. Which to me indicates that if one of the new shows really suits your preferences, you’re likely to really like it. I’d much rather have something I really like than several mediocre ones, so let’s hope that assumption of mine is accurate.

Over the next few months, I will be reviewing the new shows that catch my interest as I watch the pilots. Once again, I’m changing up the way I do these reviews. When I first started watching all the pilots, I was looking for shows to be fully-formed right out of the gate. I’ve since learned that this rarely happens. A bad pilot can lead to a great show and a great pilot can also lead to a terrible show. The goal of a pilot isn’t to make us love a show but to make us want to watch more. So that’s how I will be evaluating new shows this year. When the episode is over, do I want to tune in next week?

In addition to pilot reviews, my goal for this coming year is to write at least one thing every week. It may be something connected to a larger industry trend, a review for a show that particularly caught my attention that week, a list of things I love about a particular show or anything else TV related that is on my mind that week but I’d like to make this season a great one here at TVexamined and that means I need content.

I hope this season shapes up to be a strong one for shows and a fun one for fans. Happy TV watching!

One thought on “2015 Fall TV Kickoff

  1. I’m excited to read more from you and to hear your thoughts about the new shows this season! One of my favorite things about fall tv returning is always that all of my friends get to start discussing our favorite shows again, and I can’t wait to do that with you.

Leave a Reply

