Fall 2015 Pilot Reviews: The Muppets

Show: The Muppets

When it Airs: Tuesdays on ABC at 8:00 EST

Do I Want to Watch More? Yes

Confession: I watched very few Muppets-related things growing up. I’ve seen a couple of their movies and that may be it. I know who they are through general pop culture osmosis but I have much less of an attachment to these characters than many who tuned in to watch. So I went in to this with very few expectations of how these characters should behave.

I didn’t love the episode but I did enjoy watching it. Some of this is due to the fact that the Muppets are inherently a cute group of characters. There is a nostalgia that is comforting, even with as few memories of them as I have.

There are characters who I would like to see more of in future episodes. I’ve always been a fan of Gonzo and he wasn’t used a lot. I would also watch an entire show of Statler and Waldorf being cranky about everything because it suits my personal tastes, but I recognize that they work better in small doses. I’d also like more of Beaker because he just makes me smile.

As a whole, this isn’t a show I want to ask a lot of. I like the idea of exploring the emotional lives of these characters who have largely come as a big package over the years but even that’s not essential to my viewing experience.  I want to have fun for half an hour and smile. So long as that is happening, I’ll be along for the ride.

4 thoughts on “Fall 2015 Pilot Reviews: The Muppets

  1. I went into this, like you, as someone who hadn’t watched much of The Muppets when I was a kid, and I may have seen one movie but that is about it. I recognize a lot of them, sure, but that’s about the extent of my knowledge for most of them.

    I actually found The Muppets to fall a little flat. I laughed a couple times, but for a show that’s supposed to be a comedy most of it wasn’t very funny to me. It wasn’t unenjoyable to watch, but it wasn’t as strong as I expected it to be and I was a little disappointed. I’m giving it more time, because I’ve decided this year that unless I hate the pilot I’m going to give new shows a few weeks to find their balance before I make my final judgment, but unless this gets funnier to me I may drop it from my regular viewing schedule.

    1. I have a hard time judging humor in pilots because I feel like all the lines that are supposed to be funny have been seen a thousand times in previews and trailers before the episode ever airs. So I don’t think I laughed a lot but I did smile and that’s close enough for me for right now.

      I’m doing the same thing you are with new shows this year so I look forward to hearing about what you decide to stick with!

      1. I think it’s possible that was also part of my problem – the best jokes were probably ones I had already seen in the trailers, so we’ll see if next week is better.

        I’m looking forward to seeing what you stick with too! So far most of the new shows I’ve watched have been entertaining but nothing has really blown me away yet.

Leave a Reply

