Emmy Predictions 2017

It’s Emmy night! It’s a time for celebrating when beloved favorites win and yelling at the television in irritation when they don’t. While I never manage to quite get over my disappointment that some of my own favorites were snubbed, it doesn’t stop me from becoming invested in those who were. Below are my hopes and predictions for tonight’s awards and for more prediction fun, check out Katie’s thoughts over on Nerdy Girl Notes.

Outstanding Drama Series

Better Call Saul (AMC)
The Crown (Netflix)
The Handmaid’s Tale (Hulu)
House of Cards (Netflix)
Stranger Things (Netflix)
This Is Us (NBC)
Westworld (HBO)

My Pick: The Handmaid’s Tale. This is easily my favorite in the category for it’s gorgeous production and the way it produced such a visceral reaction in me. It’s as haunting as it should have been and the acting is uniformly strong and draws you into the lives of these characters.
Prediction: This Is Us. I suspect this will go one of three ways. The Handmaid’s Tale has a very good chance for being both buzzy and politically resonant, This Is Us is the kind of big broadcast breakout hit that has seemed to connect with a wide range of people, and The Crown is beautifully produced and the sort of upper-class British spotlight that won Downton Abbey so much Emmy love. I think its broad appeal will give This Is Us the edge tonight.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series

Sterling K. Brown as Randall Pearson (This is Us)
Anthony Hopkins as Dr. Robert Ford (Westworld)
Bob Odenkirk as Jimmy McGill (Better Call Saul)
Matthew Rhys as Philip Jennings (The Americans)
Liev Schreiber as Ray Donovan (Ray Donovan)
Kevin Spacey as Frank Underwood (House of Cards)
Milo Ventimiglia as Jack Pearson (This Is Us)

My Pick: Sterling K. Brown. I just love him a lot. He’s one of the best actors on television right now and I always want to shower him in awards and praise.
Prediction: Sterling K. Brown. After his win for People vs. OJ last year and the great work he’s doing on This Is Us, I think Brown has his second Emmy all but guaranteed tonight.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series

Viola Davis as Annalise Keating (How to Get Away with Murder)
Claire Foy as Queen Elizabeth II (The Crown)
Elisabeth Moss as June Osborne/Offred (The Handmaid’s Tale)
Keri Russell as Elizabeth Jennings (The Americans)
Evan Rachel Wood as Dolores Abernathy (Westworld)
Robin Wright as Claire Underwood (House of Cards)

My Pick: Elisabeth Moss. This is one of the roles of the year that I won’t forget and that is entirely due to Moss’s abilities. She conveys so much in her face and it’s incredible to watch.
Prediction: Elisabeth Moss. I think the acting categories are where The Handmaid’s Tale will shine the brightest tonight and that includes its leading actress in one of her strongest roles.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series

Jonathan Banks as Mike Ehrmentraut (Better Call Saul)
David Harbor as Jim Hopper (Stranger Things)
Ron Cephas Jones as William Hill (This is Us)
Michael Kelly as Doug Stamper (House of Cards)
John Lithgow as Winston Churchill (The Crown)
Mandy Patinkin as Saul Berenson (Homeland)
Jeffrey Wright as Bernard Lowe (Westworld)

My Pick: Ron Cephas Jones. When given a chance, I’ll always go with the person who made me feel the most and that is exactly what he did in This Is Us.
Prediction: John Lithgow. He is very good as Winston Churchill and exactly the sort of actor and role that the Emmys loves to award.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series

Uzo Aduba as Suzanne Warren (Orange is the New Black)
Millie Bobby Brown as Eleven/Jane Ives (Stranger Things)
Ann Dowd as Aunt Lydia (The Handmaid’s Tale)
Chrissy Metz as Kate Pearson (This is Us)
Thandie Newton as Maeve Millay (Westworld)
Samira Wiley as Moira (The Handmaid’s Tale)

My Pick: Samira Wiley. I love her in pretty much everything she does and The Handmaid’s Tale was so exception. She and Moss played so well off each other and made me invested in their friendship in just a handful of scenes.
Prediction: Thandie Newton. I don’t think Westworld will go home empty-handed tonight and even in the one episode of Westworld I watched, Newton stood out to me.

Outstanding Comedy Series

Atlanta (FX)
Black-ish (ABC)
Master of None (Netflix)
Modern Family (ABC)
Silicon Valley (HBO)
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (Netflix)
Veep (HBO)

My Pick: Black-ish. I know it’s not going to happen but it’s such a good example of what a broadcast comedy can be and it was a very strong year for it.
Prediction: Veep. I’m not convinced this show can lose at this point.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series

Anthony Anderson as Andre ‘Dre’ Johnson, Sr. (Black-ish)
Aziz Ansari as Dev Shah (Master of None)
Zack Galifianakis as Chip Baskets and Dale Baskets (Baskets)
Donald Glover as Earnest ‘Earn’ Marks (Atlanta)
William C. Macy as Frank Gallagher (Shameless)
Jeffrey Tambor as Maura Pfefferman (Transparent)

My Pick: Anthony Anderson. His monologue in his submission episode is phenomenal and I’m content to give him this award based solely on that.
Prediction: Jeffrey Tambor. I think this is probably Tambor’s as long as Transparent is on the air.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

Pamela Adlon as Sam Fox (Better Things)
Jane Fonda as Grace Hanson (Grace and Frankie)
Allison Janney as Bonnie Plunkett (Mom)
Ellie Kemper as Kimmy Schmidt (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus as Selina Meyer (Veep)
Tracie Ellis Ross as Rainbow Johnson (Black-ish)
Lily Tomlin as Frankie Bergstein (Grace and Frankie)

My Pick: Allison Janney. I know she has already won a lot of awards and I’d also be happy to see Pamela Adlon or Tracie Ellis Ross win but she really is terrific on Mom in both the dramatic and comedic moments.
Prediction: Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Once again, this is JLD’s to lose although Allison Janney moving up a category does give her some competition as far as Emmy favorites go.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

Louie Anderson as Christine Baskets (Baskets)
Alec Baldwin as Donald Trump (Saturday Night Live)
Tituss Burgess as Titus Andromedon (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt)
Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy (Modern Family)
Tony Hale as Gary Walsh (Veep)
Matt Walsh as Mike McLintock (Veep)

My Pick: Tony Hale. I don’t have a strong opinion in this category but I’ve always liked what Hale does with Gary.
Prediction: Alec Baldwin. I don’t actually watch anything nominated in this category but I can’t imagine Baldwin won’t win.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

Vanessa Bayer as Various Characters (Saturday Night Live)
Anna Chlumsky as Amy Brookheimer (Veep)
Kathryn Hahn as Raquel Fein (Transparent)
Leslie Jones as Various Characters (Saturday Night Live))
Judith Light as Shelly Pfefferman (Transparent)
Kate McKinnon as Various Characters (Saturday Night Live)

My Pick: Judith Light. She was the true highlight of Transparent this year with a little meatier of a role than she’s had in previous seasons.
Prediction: Kate McKinnon. It’s gonna be an SNL actress and I think McKinnon has the best shot. It’s very hard to resist her charm.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Limited Series or Movie

Carrie Coon as Gloria Burgle (Fargo)
Felicity Huffman as Jeanette Hesby (American Crime)
Nicole Kidman as Celeste Wright (Big Little Lies)
Jessica Lange as Joan Crawford (Feud: Bette and Joan)
Susan Sarandon as Bette Davis (Feud: Bette and Joan)
Reese Witherspoon as Madeline MacKenzie (Big Little Lies)

My Pick: Nicole Kidman. I couldn’t take my eyes off her whenever she was on screen.
Prediction: Nicole Kidman. This is the most ridiculous category and I love it. But Kidman was the highlight of a show filled with incredibly talented actresses. Although I wouldn’t mind if she tied with her co-star Reese Witherspoon.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Limited Series or Movie

Bill Camp as Dennis Box (The Night Of)
Alfred Molina as Robert Aldrich (Feud: Bette and Joan)
Alexander Skarsgård as Perry Wright (Big Little Lies)
David Thewlis as V.M. Varga (Fargo)
Stanley Tucci as Jack L. Warner (Feud: Bette and Joan)
Michael K. Williams as Freddy Night (A Night Of)

My Pick: Alexander Skarsgård. He was terrifying and made me physically uncomfortable at times with his commitment to his character. If you can provoke such genuine reactions, I think that should be rewarded.
Prediction: Stanley Tucci. This role just feels like one Emmy voters would be inclined to recognize and Tucci is perpetually amazing in whatever he does.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Limited Series or Movie

Judy Davis as Hedda Hopper (Feud: Bette and Joan)
Laura Dern as Renata Klein (Big Little Lies)
Jackie Hoffman as Mamacita (Feud: Bette and Joan)
Regina King as Kimara Walters (American Crime)
Michelle Pfeiffer as Ruth Madoff (Wizard of Lies)
Shailene Woodley as Jane Chapman (Big Little Lies)

My Pick: Laura Dern. She gave Renata so much depth and was so enjoyable to watch, whether she was fighting with Madison or fiercely defending her daughter.
Prediction: Regina King. I think her win last year will help her break through this incredibly competitive category once again.

Leave a Reply

